Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Learn about your topic: discover main issues, key players and organizations, theoretical framework, pros and cons, etc.
Use the Criminology and Sociology Bibliographies to learn about your research topic. Popular bibliographies include Human Trafficking, Police Misconduct, and Hot Spots Policing.
Overviews of current topics, i.e., Airline Security or Human Trafficking.
Policy File Index Reports from think tanks and research organizations.
These are examples of discipline-specific encyclopedias. Use these resources to find overviews which cover major aspects of a topic and highlight key issues related to that topic.
Many library search engines provide a peer-reviewed selection box. Once clicked, this feature limits search results to scholarly, peer-reviewed materials. Many of the criminology/criminal justice search engines available at NU provide this feature, including Criminal Justice Abstracts, Academic Search Premier, Sociological Abstracts, and the Social Sciences Premium Collection.
Several discovery tools for peer-reviewed literature are described below:
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of criminology, public policy, and justice. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
Criminal Justice Abstracts
CJ Abstracts is one of the premier research tools in the discipline. To locate articles, click on the NU "check for full-text" link to see what's available!
JSTOR provides full-text scholarly articles in a broad range of disciplines. CJ articles are usually found in JSTOR's Sociology area. JSTOR is now being updated to include articles published in recent years. If additional current content is needed, link to the other finding tools in this section.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Includes Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections, among them Criminal Justice, Sociology, and Social Sciences. Resources may be searched individually or as a group.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to citation data for approximately 8,700 high-impact journals across the disciplines.
Provides statistics, infographics, and statistical reports. While particularly strong in business, Statista provides excellent coverage of the social sciences.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The federal government's long-time annual statistical publication. Broad coverage of U.S. statistics and selective presentation of international statistics.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides a broad range of statistics on all aspects of crime, justice, and law enforcement.