International Affairs and Global Studies : INTL 3400 - International Conflict and Negotiation

Welcome to the research page for INTL 3400, International Conflict and Negotiation

The box to the right provides handouts which cover resources and skills related to your class assignments. One handout is printable and the second provides active links to library resources.

Below you'll find suggestions for starting work on Policy Memos 1 and 2. Stay tuned as more materials will be added!

Europa World provides both country and regional profiles.

Select the Countries/Territories link, type a country name in the search box and press enter. Select Recent History and other topics of interest from the menu at the left. The History section often provides valuable information about previous conflicts and their resolutions or lack thereof.

Regional profiles may provide additional context since neighboring countries may be affected by the conflict or involved in negotiations. Select the Regions link and make your choice from the map or list of regions.

Consider using the Political Handbook of the World to build a more complete country profile. The Political Handbook provides an overview of a nation's political landscape as well as coverage of government organization and structure. Political parties, including extremist groups or ethnic parties, are covered. Editions from 2005-2006 to present are available.

Use the following links to view 2 minute videos on Access World News features.

Use Europa World to identify other potential news sources.

To locate comprehensive lists of thank tanks and other organizations working in the areas of conflict, negotiation, and peace, visit the WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources, curated by Wayne Selcher, faculty member emeritus, Elizabethtown College.

Use these tools to find work published by NGOs, IGOs, and think tanks. Some of these reports may provide insight into the current state of the conflict and previous negotiations.

Publications from the country or countries involved in the conflict. Look for official government sites; sometimes commercial sites provide information about government agencies and activities. These sites look official, but may not provide the most accurate or up to date information.

Use the Government and Politics Directory in Europa World to find official websites. Navigate to the page for your country and use the sidebar at the left to select the appropriate directory.

Also try this Guide from Northwestern University.

Selected publications from the U.S. government

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

This resource defines homeland security very broadly. Representative topics include climate change, active shooters, cybersecurity, terrorism, disinformation, and immigration. Occasionally HSDL provides materials which provide insight into conflict participants' points of views. For example...

Use different combinations of keywords to look for materials which provide insight into conflict participant motivations, strategies, etc....for example: Boko Haram media, Al Shabaab interviews, etc..

Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for International Affairs and Global Studies .