Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Research Essentials - Begin Here!
Learn about your topic: discover main issues, key players and organizations, theoretical frameworks, pros and cons, etc.
Use the International Relations Bibliography to learn about your research topic. Popular bibliographies include Human Rights, Globalization, Genocide, and Conflict Resolution.
Global Issues examines pros and cons of current topics with a focus on international issues.
Policy File Index Reports from think tanks and research organizations.
These are examples of discipline-specific encyclopedias. Use these resources to find overviews which cover major aspects of a topic and highlight key issues related to that topic.
Many library search engines provide a peer-reviewed selection box. Once clicked, this feature limits search results to scholarly, peer-reviewed materials. Many of the search engines available at the NU Libraries provide this feature, including Academic Search Complete, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS, and the Social Sciences Premium Collection.
Several discovery tools for peer-reviewed literature are described below:
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of international affairs, public policy, and political science. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
JSTOR provides full-text scholarly articles in a broad range of disciplines. JSTOR is now being updated to include articles published in recent years. If additional current content is needed, link to the other finding tools in this section.
Full-text access to selected journal titles in the social sciences and digital humanities. From 1995 to the present (dates covered in individual titles may vary).
WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
Part of the Social Sciences Premium Collection. May be searched individually or in conjunction with PAIS, Political Science full-text, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences and a variety of other research tools.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Includes Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections, among them Criminal Justice, Sociology, and Social Sciences. Resources may be searched individually or as a group.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to citation data for approximately 8,700 high-impact journals across the disciplines.
Covers a broad range of topics and, as such, is an excellent first place to look for statistics. Provides infographics, charts, and statistical reports.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Continues the Census Bureau's invaluable annual compendium which ceased publication in 2012. Editions available for 2013 to present.
ICPSR is a membership based, non-profit data archive located at the University of Michigan; it is one of the world's largest social science archives. Access to datasets and related studies on a wide variety of topics. NU students may set up a myData account to download datasets and supporting documentation.
This site provides access to 35 UN databases, covering a broad range of data from crime to industry to demographics. Offers links to statistical portals of the world's nations.
World Bank Open Data Catalog
See especially the World Development Indicators.
DataBank (World Bank)
Analysis and visualization of time series data.
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for International Affairs and Global Studies.