Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Welcome! For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian or discipline-specific Subject Guide.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of international affairs, political science, public policy, and public administration. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including international relations, area studies, political science, and peace and conflict studies. One of the premier sources for classic literature in the social sciences, the collection now includes articles published in recent years.
Full-text access to selected journal titles in the social sciences and digital humanities. From 1995 to the present (dates covered in individual titles may vary).
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Includes Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, and a number of full-text journal collections, among them Political Science, Sociology, Education, and Social Sciences. Resources may be searched individually or as a group.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides access to citation data for approximately 8,700 high-impact journals across the disciplines, including international relations, area studies, and political science.
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
EIU is produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit. Contents include Country Reports, Country Profiles, Country Commerce, Country Finance, and a number of newsletter articles.
Political Handbook of the World
Available from 2005 to the current 2018-19 edition. Provides overviews of government organization, political parties, and election results. Part of the CQ Political Reference Suite.
Streaming Video Collections
Current Events Sources
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
Excellent source for keeping up with events around the world. Current issues and an archive.
Newspapers and magazines from over 60 countries, many in their original languages (translation of some titles available). Great resource for anyone planning to travel or study abroad!
Mideastwire provides daily English-language summaries of key political, cultural, economic, and opinion pieces produced by the media in 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
Image used with permission of Mideast Wire.
MERIP - Information and analysis of the Middle East including the Middle East Report, which provides news and analysis not generally found in mainstream sources. Independent with no links to other educational, religious, or political organizations.
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for International Affairs and Global Studies .