Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (online ed. 2013)
by Peter W. Martin (Cornell University)
Blue Book (citation)
Some tips available for free. Print copies available at the Reference Desk.
Need more help?
The Legal research guide provides more in-depth guidance to research in the field.
You can make an appointment with the Legal Research Subject Specialist, Roxanne Palmatier.
NU School of Law Library
The Law Library is open to all members of the Northeastern University community.
Please note: Snell Library and the Law Library share access to many databases and e-journals. However, a number of Law Library e-resources, including Westlaw and the Law Library's version of Nexis Uni are not available to the larger University community.
There are a number of approaches to searching:
Hein Online offers several journal collections of note. Contents include: American Bar Association Journals, International and Non-U.S. Law Journals, Criminal Justice Journals, Intellectual Property Law Journals, and Most Cited Law Journals.
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including law and related disciplines. In most instances, this collection will not provide articles published in the last five years. Use Academic Search Premier to locate current materials
This government resource provides full-text access to essential federal publications, including Congressional Bills, Statutes at Large, and public and private laws.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Find international and U.S. legal information, including law reviews, federal and state cases, and more.