Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Public Health: Public Health Online Students

A guide to finding online resorces for public health research

Welcome!

Welcome Public Health online students!
This research guide introduces you to library services and resources to support your public health research, including health sciences databases, e-journals and e-books.  For immediate research help please contact us via email/webform.

Snell Library Orientation for Public Health Students

Welcome! This brief video provides an overview of the NU Library website, the Public Health Research Guide, and information for online students.

Public Health Resources: find articles, journals, e-books and organizations

Looking for articles but not sure where to start? For articles describing primary research, written by experts in the field, try the databases listed below first.

The brief videos below will help you develop your research question, choose keywords, find peer reviewed articles, and offer tips for improving your search results.

To search for e-books, use the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch. On your search results screen, choose e-books under "material type" to retrieve only e-books.

E-books and E-book collections
E-book devices
E-book collections with public health content include: eBook Collection (Ebsco), SpringerLink, ClinicalKey, AccessMedicine, R2 Library, and STAT!Ref.

1.  Search health databases to find peer reviewed or scholarly articles on your topic.

2.  Choose keywords for your topic.

3.  Check out these brief database video tutorials!

4.  Learn the shortcuts: use advanced search techniques to search databases more effectively and find the full text.

5.  Interlibrary Loan: Use ILLIad, our interlibrary loan service to request articles not owned by Snell Library. HINT: Look for the PDF link or the     "Check NU LIbrary" in your database search results. If the article is not available, you will be prompted to link to ILLiad to submit your request.

6.  Organize your citations using citation management tools such as RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley or Zotero. Import your citations from your database search, autoformat them into your preferred citation style, and insert the reference list into your paper. Learn how to choose a citation management software tool.

7.  Get help from a librarian
          Contact me: s.dunphy@northeastern.edu; 617-373-5322
          Send a message
          Call 617-373-2356
          Find librarians by subject
          Ask 24/7

How Do I Develop a Research Question?

How Do I Choose Keywords for my Search?

Choosing your keywords carefully will help speed up the research process.

5 Ways to Improve Your Search Results

Need suggestions for searching databases, narrowing your search results, using subject headings?

Your Librarian

Philip Espinola Coombs's picture
Philip Espinola Coombs
Contact:
p.coombs@northeastern.edu