Research Subject Guides: Public Health: Find More Sources

News

News sources covering health topics.

Stat Plus
Provides in-depth biotech, pharma, policy, and life science coverage and analysis. Coverage includes Wall Street news, policy developments in Washington, early science breakthroughs, clinical trial results, and health care disruption...
Kaiser Health News
KHN (Kaiser Health News) is a national newsroom that produces in-depth journalism about health issues. KFF is an endowed nonprofit organization providing information on health issues to the nation. KHN reports on how the health care system — hospitals, doctors, nurses, insurers, governments, consumers — works.
MedPage Today
MedPage Today is a trusted source for clinical news coverage across the medical specialties. MedPageToday covers clinical news, findings, and announcements that will directly affect the lives and practices of health care professionals throughout the U.S.
NIH News in Health
A monthly newsletter from the National Institutes of Health, part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Newspapers:

Available United States papers include Boston Globe, New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Archives and collections of smaller and special are also available through Northeastern Library subscriptions.

Find more Newspapers
Find all of the newspapers Northeastern University Library subscribes to.

CDC Newsroom

Grey Literature: Government Sources

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Access to publications, data & statistics.
Evidence Search/NICE-National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
Provides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
More on Another Library Guide

PFAS-Tox Database

Looking for health and toxicology studies on PFAS chemicals?

Try the PFAS-Tox Database, a living systematic evidence map and database of studies.

The PFAS-Tox Database was developed by a multi-institutional group of researchers, funded and supported by several organizations, including Northeastern University's Social Science Environmental Health Research Institute.

Maps and visualizations of disease

Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) Data Visualizations
The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them.
WHO: Global Health Observatory Map Gallery
The GHO map gallery includes an extensive list of maps on major health topics, such as child health, environmental health, HIV/AIDS, mortality & global burden of disease, tobacco control, violence prevention & more.
HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map
Real time infectious disease surveillance

Videos

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A curated collection of films for the Northeastern community, including feature films as well as high-interest documentaries. You may use Scholar OneSearch to find out if Northeastern has a particular film. Closed captions and transcripts included.
Instructors may request access via the request form in Kanopy.
If you live in Massachusetts and wish to use Kanopy outside of academic use, the Boston Public Library (BPL) offers Kanopy for free, up to 4 films a month. First BPL Kanopy-related info .
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online Premium provides video content to a broad range of subject areas, including documentaries and journalistic content on topics in business, politics, history, music, public health, education and more. Training videos are also available.
Many films include closed captions, searchable transcripts and clipping functionality for accessibility and teaching support. Limited public performance rights include classroom showings and extracurricular viewing as long as no admission is charged.

Public Health: Find More Sources