Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Where to Publish Your Research?
These resources will help you identify potential journals to publish in
Search on the topic of your article to see where related articles have been published.
Elsevier Journal Finder
Insert your title and abstract and select the appropriate field-of-research for the best results. Searches only Elsevier journals.
ISI Journal Citation Reports
Identify high impact journals in many subjects. Searches journals included in Web of Science.
International periodicals directory lists all journals, description, publisher information, peer review status, abstracting & indexing information.
Deciding Where to Submit Your Work
Where to start:
- Look at your list of references! Journals you've cited in your work might be good places to submit.
- Search for articles on your topic in a subject-specific database, and make note of what journals appear frequently in your search results.
- Ask your subject librarian! She or he can help you find good quality journals that are relevant to your research area.
- If you've received an e-mail inviting you to submit your article to a journal, check the "What is a Predatory Publisher?" tab of this guide for help determining if the publisher is legitimate.
- Visit the journals' websites to review:
- Scope (topics in which they are willing to accept submissions)
- Author guidelines (formatting of manuscripts/illustrations/reference lists and other requirements for submission)
- Turnaround time (how long it takes from submitting an article to receiving a decision)
- Prioritize your list. Most journals do not want to review submissions that are also under consideration elsewhere, so you will need to wait to receive a response from Journal #1 before submitting to Journal #2 and so on.
- Visit Thinkchecksubmit.org for more guidance on assessing journal quality.
Conference or Journal?
In some disciplines, like computer science and engineering, it is more common for researchers to submit papers to be presented at a conference than to submit an article to a journal.
Is This Journal Publisher Legit?
Signs a journal or publisher might be deceptive or predatory include:
- The journal is not listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
- The journal is not listed in the Ulrichs directory. It is not included in one or more major indexes.
- The publisher is not a member of the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA).
Visit the website for the journal. You might have concerns if...
- You don't regularly read this journal.
- You don't recognize previously published authors. You don't recognize the members of the editorial board, or there is no editorial board listed.
- It does not appear to be affiliated with a university, scholarly society, or commercial publisher you are familiar with. It is vague about what country it's based in.
- You cannot easily identify if they have article processing fees and/or how much they cost.
- The journal does not appear professional—look for an impact factor, an ISSN, DOIs for individual articles, easy to find contact information.
Visit Thinkchecksubmit.org for more guidance on assessing journal quality.
Subscription vs. Open-Access Journals
Open-access journals differ from subscription-based journals in that their content is free for everyone to read. There are several types of open-access journals—while some require authors to pay an article processing charge to cover the costs of publishing, many are completely free to both authors and readers. Some journals offer both a traditional subscription version and make some articles available open-access—this is called a hybrid publishing model.
Legitimate open-access journals follow the same standards for rigorous publishing that traditional subscription-based scholarly journals do. Their inclusion in a subject-based literature index like Chemical Abstracts or a directory with strong inclusion criteria like the Directory of Open Access Journals means that they have been reviewed by experts and judged worthy. These journals will be transparent on their websites about their editorial oversight, affiliations, selection criteria, peer review process, and any charges to authors.
While some online journals have questionable practices (see the "What is a Predatory Publisher?" tab for more), open access publishing does NOT equal vanity publishing!
Books @ Snell Library
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 8th Edition by Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. Writing and publishing journal articles are essential aspects of a successful scientific career. Unfortunately, many scientists find the process of communicating about their work intimidating and confusing. Now in its eighth edition, How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper teaches how to apply clear focus, good organization, and simple, straightforward language to write papers as well as communicate effectively in many other scientifically related applications. By providing practical, readable, and sometimes humorous guidance, this book enables researchers to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence to succeed in communicating about their work. The authors not only guide readers in the craft of scientific writing--broken down into the separate tasks of writing the respective sections of a scientific paper and then publishing the paper--but also address important related psychological, ethical, logistical, and cultural considerations in communicating about science. Chapter topics include composing (and requesting) recommendation letters, writing grant proposals, providing peer review, editing one's own work, preparing oral presentations and poster presentations, and working with the popular media. This is an essential resource for researchers--both native and non-native users of English--with limited experience writing scientific papers, such as graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty members. Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work--and describes how best to work with them
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
How to Write a Paper by This concise paperback is one of the best known guides to writing a paper for publication in biomedical journals. Its straightforward format - a chapter covering each of part of the structured abstract - makes it relevant and easy to use for any novice paper writer. How to Write a Paper addresses the mechanics of submission, including electronic submission, and how publishers handle papers, writing letters to journals abstracts for scientific meetings, and assessing papers. This new edition also covers how to write a book review and updated chapters on ethics, electronic publication and submission, and the movement for open access.
Publication Date: 2012-10-19
What is an ORCID?
...And why should you have one?
An ORCID is a unique identifier assigned to an author, like a Social Security Number. It's a way of distinguishing between authors with similar names, and determining if two different versions of a name actually belong to the same author (eg. if a name changes due to marriage).
Publishers are starting to require that authors include their ORCID or sign up for one during the submission process. Why not create your ORCID now?