Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Key Resources for Physical Therapy Research
What is a scholarly journal? Take a look at our Types of Periodicals" chart or watch one of our online tutorials
Need to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed? Search by journal title in Ulrich's Web
Most comprehensive source for articles in nursing and allied health journals, covering 17 allied health disciplines from 1937 to the present. Covers 5,500 journals, full text for 1,300+ journals.
PubMed (NU customized)
Open-access version of Medline, the health information clearinghouse from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to full text for authorized NU affiliates.
Authoritative biomedical and health articles from 5,600 worldwide journals in 60 languages; also including some nursing, dentistry, veterinary, health policy, pre-clinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered are scholarly journals, a small number of newspapers, magazines and newsletters are included. 1946 - present.
F.A. Davis PT Collection
Collection of top F.A. Davis physical therapy e-books, fully searchable and continuously updated. Includes physical therapy cases to help apply real-life scenarios and patient-therapist interaction. 400 videos on exercise and rehabilitation techniques, physical therapy interventions and kinetics. Create a MyAccess account to access review questions.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 650 journals from 1930-. Covers rehabilitation, biomechanics fitness, exercise physiology, training, psychological aspects of sports, physical education, coaching.
Covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day with more than 32+ million records from 8,200 journals and ‘grey literature’ from over 2.4 million conference abstracts. Embase includes unique non-English content and coverage of the most important types of evidence, such as randomized controlled trials, controlled clinical trials, Cochrane reviews and meta-analyses.
Cochrane consists of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
PEDro: the Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
medRxiv is a free onlline archive of complete but unpublished manuscripts in the medical, clinical and related health sciences. med Rxiv facilitates early dissemination of new findings by allowing researchers to share manuscripts before they are peer-reviewed and published in academic journals. Hosted by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and Yale University.
From McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides access to 77 core medical texts, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians.
This regularly-updated, comprehensive Resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics such as key texts to specialty-specific content, videos, case studies, study tools. Authoritative, trusted, and comprehensive.
Comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 20 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
Full text articles from 500+ medical journals. Additional point-of-care resources include 900 medical texts, clinically relevant drug information, patient handouts, 1500 med/surg videos, 5 million images, practice guidelines.
HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)
Indexes articles with descriptions and analyses of assessment tools used in health and psychology.
Full text articles for nearly 180 international, and ofFen peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Additional Databases with Physical Therapy Content
Academic Search Complete
Search across 10,000 full-text resources including magazines, newspapers, and 6,000 peer-reviewed scholarly journals across all disciplines.
AgeLine focuses on those aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine indexes over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. An excellent resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Education Research Complete
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Health Reference Center Academic
Note: Available courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Comissioners.
Nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including nursing and allied health students.
The American Psychological Association's flagship database of 2.4 million articles, books and other international documents in psychology going back over a century. 98% peer-reviewed.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Web of Science
1975-present) for citation tracking and analysis. Index to 10,000 high impact journals. Abstracts are available, with linking to full text. Allows you to see what journal articles have subsequently cited a particular article, thus measuring the influence of that particular article or scholar.
Looking for a Specific E-journal?
If We Don't Have Access to an Article You Need...
Request articles or books not available at NU through ILLiad our interlibrary loan service. Articles are delivered electronically.
One-time registration is required to request articles not available at NU Libraries.