Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide introduces you to library services and resources to support your academic studies and research. This first page is just an introduction and highlights some of the key resources available to you for research and clinical work. Much more can be found on other pages.
If you have questions or recommendations please reach out to me. If you would like to meet, please use the link provided in my profile box.
PubMed and Medline
PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
A note on Medline, MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains millions of references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Medline can be accessed through a variety of platforms including PubMed, EBSCOhost, Proquest and others.
Core Multi-Content Resources
AccessPhysiotherapy Including F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection ( (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new window
Includes tools such as video demonstrations, image slides, online dissection, and quizzes. includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, and more.
Includes collection of 29 top F.A. Davis physical therapy e-books, fully searchable and continuously updated.
AccessMedicine (McGraw Hill Medical) This link opens in a new window
From the basics to specialty-specific content,with more than 50 medical books, including manuals and handbooks which can be downloaded to a mobile device.
- What this includes: Textbooks, self-assessments, practice guidelines, videos, a drug database, patient cases.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
presents a step-by-step approach to patient treatment, current examination techniques, and normal and abnormal findings, including more than 8 hours of head-to-toe...
Clinical and Drug Tools
access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
Lexicomp provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Mental Health Diagnostics
Additional Guides of Interest
There are other guides that you might find useful, depending on specific areas of interest. A few are listed here but even more exist.