Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater by The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela). Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. The introduction provides a review of Latin American literature and theater as a whole while separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading. The comprehensive view and detailed information obtained from all these elements will make this book of use to the general-interest reader, Latin American studies students, and the academic specialist.
Publication Date: 2010
A Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America by This Dictionary provides an impartial and valuable background to the Latin American region, vital for anyone interested in the current affairs, recent history and economy of this vast area. Entries provide definitions of terms, concepts, names and organizations key to discussions of Central and South America. Covering some 48 countries and territories, this volume offers a unique insight to the political and economic dimensions of this diverse region.
Publication Date: 2004
Online Reference Titles
Early Caribbean Digital Archive OPEN ACCESS
The Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA) is a highly interactive digital scholars lab for the collaborative research and study of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean literature.
Includes such primary source materaisl such as slave narratives, foodways, and Obeah practices.
Ethnic NewsWatch Subject:
Humanities, Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary
Current NU Only
Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 (World Newspaper Archive) Subject:
Government & Law, Humanities, Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences
Current NU Only
Online Reference Sources
Click on the logo to access:
The searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America
The Early Caribbean Digital Archives with publicly accessible pre-twentieth century archival materials