Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Policy File to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
The research tools below will help you find journal articles on political institutions, processes, behavior, politics, and public policy at the state and local level. Many articles provide in-depth analysis of the policy issues while newspaper and other media resources provide information about current issues and current events; historical newspapers provide insight into policy debates over time.
Look at other Library Guides for advice on article search tools in a variety of subject, for example, crime, sustainability, health, technology, and education.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of political science, public policy, and public administration. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including public policy and public adminstration, urban studies, and transportation studies. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years.
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest)
Includes PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections. Databases may be searched individually or as a group.