Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Africana Studies: Data & Statistics

A guide for research in African American and African Studies

Working with Data and Statistics

Data Maps

 For local maps, the Boston Planning and Development Agency webpage includes data, maps and aerial photographs.

Black Progress Index: Examining the social factors that influence Black well-being

The World Bank Global Reach Map is a collection maps and data, a visual look at wealth--and poverty--distribution throughout the world.

Worldmapper:
The World as You've Never Seen It has maps showing areas of interest--not country boundaries. Looking for a map showing the distribution of wealth, income, food, housing?

Data Visualizations gone wrong--just because it's data, it may not be usable.

Historical Maps

Afriterra Foundation historical maps of Africa invites users to "uncover Africa through cartography"

American Geographical Society Library (AGSL) Digital Map Collection contains over 19,000 maps from the 15th to the 20th century.

Library of Congress Maps

Statistics: local to international

The Statista portal contains up-to-date statistics from around the world. Access with your Northeastern credentials.

Survey question data:

 

More statistical sources:

Analyze Boston geographic, development and demographic information.

Bureau of the Census Online Library provides open access to Statistical Abstracts Series, 1878-2012.
Statistical Abstracts has the more recent information and requires MyNortheastern authentication.

Explore Census Date


International

Eurostat contains statistics from the European Union

Population Reference Bureau (PRB) "informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations." Use the DataFinder to browse for data geographically and by topic.

UNdata originates from the United Nations

World Health Data Collections