Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
We have workshops for managing your citations!
Registration for fall citation management workshops is now open! Visit our Training page to view options and register for webinars.
All workshop are online and cover these topics--Endnote, RefWorks, Zotero, Mendeley, and Introduction to Citation Management. See how citation management software can help your create your bibliography and keep track of your references in this 60 second video.
Note: Librarians at Snell have created tutorials for setting up shortcuts for exporting to EndNote (Instructions for Mac and for PC).
Online Reference Tools
Africa South of the Sahara
This open-access selection of internet resources includes a list on evaluating information from the internet. Compiled at Stanford University.Browse by country or topic, or search the Africa pages.
American National Biography Online
American National Biography Online includes biographies for more than 18,700 American men and women whose lives have shaped the nation
Biography in Context (Gale Cengage)
Compiled from biographical sources, including African American Firsts in Science and Technology, African Biography, and Contemporary Black Biography.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (Brill)
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online), published by Brill, consists of both the second edition AND the third edition. The search engine automatically searches both editions and offers the most recent results first in the list of hits.
Developed with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides, featuring enyclopedic entries and annotated bibliographies on scholarship across a wide variety of subjects including Anthropology, Atlantic History, Cinema and Media Studies, Criminology, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latino Studies, Public Health and Sociology.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography includes over 58,094 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles. Authoritative in-depth articles include likenesses and detailed lists of additional sources and the American National Biography Online
Sage Research Methods is an online collection of reference tools, handbooks, manuals, videos and project planners about research. Sage Research Methods has a help guide
Research Tutorials developed by the Northeastern University Library staff.