Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africana Studies at Northeastern University
Africana Studies at Northeastern Africana Studies is a truly global and interdisciplinary degree. College graduates with Africana Studies degrees have become doctors, lawyers, entertainers, politicians, public health professionals, diplomats, professors, astronauts, journalists, engineers, artists, poets, executives, entrepreneurs, and more!
Take a look at Co-op to Career webpage for more information about co-op or career resources.
DATABASE TRIALS includes access to the Hindustan Times. This resource is a part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers Hindustan Times Historical covers leading issues and events of the time, providing day-to-day news coverage of history in India. The historical newspaper offers coverage of 1924–2010, and is one of the largest newspapers in India.The paper is the second most widely read English newspaper in India (after The Times of India). The trial ends on December 28th 2022.
Snell Library is currently offering trial access to World Politics Review, a daily online resource for international politics and foreign affairs written by more than 400 contributors from around the world and experts in a variety of disciplines. Full text is included in PDF or HTML format, or both, and the Review contains thousands of articles in its archive. The trial ends on December 31st, 2022.
Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by taking the short survey. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.
Related Subject Guides include:
Campus Research Centers & Collections
Open Access Resources
AgEcon is a searchable international collection of conference papers, journals, reports in agricultural and applied economics.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Google Cultural Institute -- Black History and Culture is a treasure trove on online Black history and culture, including the Museum of UnCut Funk, dedicated to celebrating Black Culture of the 1970s.
King Encyclopedia is a searchable database at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute, Stanford University. Both are excellent for finding primary sources.
Library of Congress includes
UMass Amherst Guide of Reparations in the United States--Historical Timeline of Reparations Payments Made From 1783 through 2022 by the United States Government, States, Cities, Religious Institutions, Universities, Corporations, and Communities
Starting your research and need some background information?
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition which covers concepts such as race relations, discrimination, race and urban planning.in detailed articles
Use Scholar One to search for books, articles, streaming video, streaming music, government publications, and more. To search only for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option.
International news and business weekly publication with reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
A searchable collection of original primary source documents relating to Empire Studies, from libraries and archives around the world. Sources date from 1492 to 2007.
Magazine source for global news and analysis with information on contemporary politics and economics in the context of foreign policy-making worldwide.
Global Issues in Context
Offers selected country reports, along with background information on a broad range of global issues, topics and current events. NOTE: use the Browse Issues
to see the list of almost 700 topics, including Famine in Somalia and African Union.
Archive of journals in many subject areas. TIP:
The advanced search option is a way to customize a search of the journal collections, including African Studies or African American Studies. The JSTOR collection has expanded to include books and images.
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
International in scope, LRC provides biographical and critical overviews of most authors, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research--see
MLA International Bibliography below.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index
International in scope, the index includes reports, government documents, books and gray literature along with academic, peer-reviewed journal articles. Some of the indexed materials are published in other languages.
Content covers a wide range of topics, such as Politics, Economics, Development, Culture, and written by international experts in the field. NOTE:
articles available in a number of languages.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including economics, politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Web of Science
The Web of Science is multidisciplinary resource to a large collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials. Valuable for tracing related publications and citations.
Country Studies and Reports
Not peer-reviewed, but authoritative sources for country information, reports, policy papers and studies.
- EIU Viewpoint (Economist Intelligent Unit)
- Europa World Plus with in-depth country and regional information.
- BBC News Country Profiles
- Policy Commons
Looking for studies,reports or white papers? Use this resource to access gray literature from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, government agencies, and academic research centers.
- Policy File
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. U.S. and international coverage.
Streaming Video Collections
Open Access Media
Search for "african OR african american" on