Skip to main content
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Primary sources and secondary sources.
Use Scholar OneSearch to locate audio and video/DVD items at Snell Library.
Music and Video Online links to multimedia sources, such as Smithsonian Global Sound (music from around the world and different cultures), NAXOS Music Library and streaming video on demand from FMG.
Other resources for streaming video include:
- NJEdge.net New Jersey state-of-the-art video portal & repository that provides a common online platform for presentation, storage and archiving of digital works
- Snagfilms.com provides documentaries, ranging from "Marcus Garvey: A Giant of Black Politics" to PBS programs
- Internet Archive is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts (such as books and images) in digital form. Free access is provided to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. The collection includes the banned OSHA film, "Can't Take No More", narrated by Studs Terkel
- Top Documentary Films collects documentaries from Youtube and other video sources online to provide open access to documentaries, such as "Dirty Business."
Social Science Statistics
Visit the Social Sciences Statistics Guide developed by the Social Sciences Team at the Northeastern University Libraries.
SocArXiv -- the open archive of the social sciences, a free. non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers
Advocates for Human Rights, bassed in Minnesota, is "a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and protecting human rights. Through cutting-edge research, education, and advocacy, The Advocates saves lives, fights injustice, restores peace, and builds the human rights movement in the United States and around the world."
- American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research is a community of scholars and supporters committed to expanding liberty, increasing individual opportunity, and strengthening free enterprise
- Animal Studies Repository is a collection of academic, archival, and other materials related to almost 250 disciplines within the fields of animal
and animal welfare studies
- Center for Healthcare Policy and Research, University of California, Davis
The Mission of the Center is to facilitate research, promote education and inform policy about health and healthcare. The Goals of this Mission are to improve the health of the public by contributing new knowledge about access, delivery, cost and outcomes.
- Cold War International History Project Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
Good collection of primary source documents pertaining to large events during the cold war.
- Contagion Harvard University Library, Open Collections Program
Online collection from Harvard University Library, includes digitized copies of books, periodicals, pamphlets with over 500,000 pages presenting global, social-history and public-policy inplications of disease.
CREDO, a digital collection at Special Collections and University Archives, UMass Amherst, has Du Bois Central a digital collection of over 42,000 items from the W.E.B. Du Bois Papers, including all of Du Bois’s general correspondence from 1877 through about 1940 and nearly 1,000 photograph
EuroDocs. Brigham Young University
Primary historical documents from Western Europe, covering from the medieval period to the present, including
Europe as a supranational region.
Europeana.eu is a digital collection developed from a collaboration between universities, research institutes,
and content providers with over four million digital items, for details see About Us.
H-Urban Michigan State University
Information devoted to urban history.
Harvard Joint Center for Housing Studies Harvard University's center for information and research on housing in the United States. The Joint Center analyzes the dynamic relationships between housing markets and economic, demographic, and social trends, providing leaders in government, business, and the non-profit sector with the knowledge needed to develop effective policies and strategies.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS)
Digitization project of thousands of pages of summary interview transcripts. The site also includes links to finding aids and guides to help scholars in their searches. HINT: The "Search this site" box searches the Harvard College LIbrary website; to search for Project interviews, please scroll down to the search box labelled "Type keywords or phrase".
International Institute of Social History.
Research in history of the working class from the world-renowned labor organization.
- Internet Archive
Accesses historical collections and cultural artifacts in digital format
- Marxists Internet Archive has been around since 1990 with links to pages for the an Encyclopedia, Library, History and Subjects webpages
- New American Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy institute that invests in new thinkers and new ideas to address the next generation of challenges facing the United States.
VERA Institute of Justice
An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit center for justice policy and practice which works with leaders in government and civil society improve the systems people rely on for justice and safety.
- Vietnam Project Texas Tech University
Useful primarily for web accessible oral histories from those served in Vietnam
- Youth Violence Systems Project: Getting to the Roots
A study that incorporates academic, institutional and community perspectives on the interrelated causes, "getting to the roots" of youth violence in Boston.