Economics : Citing, Writing, Dissertations

APA and Bluebook Resources

These resources illustrate the basics of APA citation style, 7th edition. For assistance with materials which aren't covered by the sample citations provided, you're welcome to contact me. r.palmatier@northeastern.edu

NOTE: For complex legal citations, APA editors defer to The Bluebook: a uniform system of citation. The preceding link directs you to the NU Law Library Guide to Bluebook citation. Other Bluebook links appear on a separate tab.

Some materials in this section were created by staff of the Purdue OWL. This material is owned by Purdue University and the Purdue OWL. Please use this material responsibly and only in accordance with Purdue's terms and conditions of fair use.

Other links are from the American Psychological Association (APA) web pages.

APA site
For a quick answer, use the search tool at the top right of the screen (magnifying glass).
APA style references
Sample citations with explanations included. Icons indicate new guidance, expanded guidance, changes from APA 6, etc.
APA Instructional Materials
Provides tutorials, webinars, guides, handouts, and sample papers.
APA Blog
Great place to read about what's trending in APA style...latest post covers procedures for citing a cancelled conference paper.
APA Style Workshop (Purdue OWL)
Scroll down to the section called APA Citations and Reference List for sample citations.
APA formatting and style guide (Purdue OWL)

For your project, slides 19 through 36 are most relevant.

As noted previously, APA and most other major citation styles rely on The Bluebook for complex legal citations. Here are some online guides for your use.

NU Law Library Bluebook Citation
Cornell University Legal Information Institute (LII)
Use the links to the left of the screen to retrieve sample citations.
Georgetown University Guide to the Bluebook
Includes some helpful video tutorials.

Additional Citation Styles

Check our pages on citations and bibliographies.

Your instructor will generally specify the preferred citation style for your class. Commonly used citation styles include: APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago, ASA (American Sociological Association), and MLA (Modern Languages Association).

Harvard Citation Style - From Taylor and Francis.

The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) is an extraordinary resource for all aspects of paper writing, including citation and bibliography. The Site Map is a good place to begin.

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)

APA (Purdue OWL)

MLA (Purdue OWL)

ASA (Purdue OWL)

These links used by kind permission of the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

Also try:

Chicago Manual of Style - 16th and 17th editions available.
ASA (American Sociological Association, Quick Guide)
For tricky questions about APA style, particularly newer media like YouTube or Twitter, check out the APA Style Blog.

Finding Dissertations

This video and the alternative PowerPoint slides will show you how to find dissertations: in general, written at NU, written in my program, supervised by my advisor, and written using a particular theoretical framework.

How Do I Find Dissertations
No time to watch a video? Flip through these slides!

Dissertations Online

Submitting dissertations and theses online

The Digital Repository Service is a secure repository system, designed to store and share scholarly, administrative, and archival materials from the Northeastern University community.

NU dissertations online are also searchable at Dissertations and Theses at NU.

To search for dissertations beyond NU, use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Global.

Print Dissertations and Theses at NU

Copies of all dissertations and theses written at Northeastern University are kept in the University Archives, 92 Snell Library. Archives is open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

NU dissertations are fully cataloged and searchable through the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.

Why Cite?

It is important to cite the resources you use when researching a paper for many reasons.

Why do I need to cite?

It gives credit to the person who created the idea. Remember to cite whether you quote them or not.
It allows your readers to locate the sources you used, so they can read and judge themselves.
It provides evidence of your research.

How do I cite?

If you are writing a paper or assignment, consult with your instructor about the proper style used in your discipline or needed for the assignment.
if you are writing for publication, check the author guidelines on a publisher's web page for the required style.

More Resources:

Need a particular style guide? Check out the Leganto list on Resources on Citation and Style Guides in the Writing Resources Collection here at Northeastern Library.
Check out our PDF on Citation Fundamentals
The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) is an extraordinary resource for all aspects of paper writing, including citation and bibliography. The Site Map is a good place to begin.

Citation Management Software

The Library supports EndNote, EndNoteOnline, RefWorks, Mendeley, and Zotero citation management software.

NU offers free downloads of EndNote citation management software through myNEU. RefWorks EndNoteOnline, and Zotero are web-based resources.

More about citations

Need help? Visit our training pages. Scroll down to schedule an appointment with one of our citation management specialists.

Writing Assistance

For help with writing projects, consider a visit to Northeastern's Writing Center. Same-day walk in service is available in 136 Snell Library; assistance by appointment is offered in the 412 Holmes center. Online consulting is also available (all appointments in EST).

The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) is an extraordinary resource for all aspects of paper writing, including citation and bibliography. The Site Map is a good place to begin.

These links used by kind permission of the Purdue Online Writing Lab.