Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Search for articles, books, media and more with Scholar OneSearch.
Article Search Tips
Keywords are critical!! If you are having difficulty locating information with your search terms, try different but similar words. (Bike, bicycle, race, ride, etc.)
Here are some other tips:
- Verbalize your topic, or write it down. A sentence or two should be fine.
- Pick out two or three key terms from your written topic.
- Enter one or more of those terms into an article database that covers your topic.
- Look at your results list.
- Choose an article that interests you, and click on the title.
- Skim the abstract and keywords/subject headings for additional ideas for search terms.
- Repeat with a new search, if needed.
- Review our Top 10 Search Tips.
- Ask a librarian for help!
Provides company, industry, country and financial data. Includes company SWOTs, company overviews, industry profiles covering over 215 countries and 46 political and geographic groupings.
Search for your industry using the search box in the upper right of the page. Be sure to include the country. Sample search: coffee and US
Industry and company reports for the US. Provides excellent overviews of industries and suggestions for further research.
When researching marketing information, one may use a variety of resources. This guide presents a selection of types of resources you might need to use. You may find yourself using the subscription databases (you'll need to log in using your myNEU account for these), or a variety of web resources. Additionally, some resources may be able to provide information for more than one category.
You will need to determine if the resource you are using provides correct, authoritative information.
- Look for explanations of methodology.
- Ask why this organization/author is providing this information (to earn money? to serve the interests of a particular group?)
- Determine who is providing the information. (About Us, Mission)
- When looking at websites, look for words that may lead to data: research, data, statistics, publications, press releases
For more details on evaluating web sites:
Lifestyle and Behavior
Charity Ride Data Summary
Summary of survey data prepared by Professor Felicia Lassk. No longer available on the library website; currently linked through the Internet Archive Wayback Machine.
Quick charts and information on a wide variety of topics. A great resource for getting started.
Demographics & Market Share
Research & Instruction Librarian
Google: Advanced Searching
Search only government web sites (local, state, federal) by using this special search term:
and adding your other search terms - for example, site:gov and agriculture statistics