Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provided by NU Libraries
American Periodicals Series, 1741-1940 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
One of the largest collections of digitized page images from American magazines and journals, covering colonial days to early 20th century. This includes titles like Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Rich primary source database with over 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from 1,325 women, colonial to 1950. Keyword-searchable and with some pre-selected sub-collections of primary sources arranged around important historical events. Also includes author biographies an
Times Digital Archive
London Times from 1785 to 1985 not including the Sunday edition. Wide history of 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, with applicability in literary, women's, and postcolonial studies. Find reviews of authors' works as published during their lifetime.
Women Writers Online
Early modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title.
30+ million records from over 2,000 cultural institutions in Europe, constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.
Digital Public Library of American (DPLA)
Over 7 million records from 1,200 cultural institutions in the U.S., constantly growing. Paintings, sketchbooks, manuscripts, journals -- almost any type of primary source.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Includes historic U.S. Newspapers, links to international collections, photographs, early sound recordings, manuscripts, and former American Memory collections. Of course, very strong in U.S. history, but also with holdings from various historical eras in other countries.
Make sure to use the yellow log-in button and select Northeastern. Millions of digitized titles from around the world, covering the 15th to 21st centuries. A Google Books for academic libraries, with a good amount of full-text access for public domain items.
ICON: Newspaper Digitzation Projects
International in scope, one of the largest directories of which newspapers have been digitized. Some may be paid access only -- if you need a particular title first check here to see if it's been digitized, and then contact the Northeastern library to see if we have access or can locate a local library with access.
The Online Books Page
A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)
National Digital Libraries
Of China, India, France, Australia... always try a search for the national or regional libraries in your area of focus.
Open Web Resources
Eighteenth Century Collections Online TCP
Courtesy the University of Michigan Library and other partners in the ECCO Text Creation Partnership
, this is a full-text searchable database of approximately 2,200 texts. These texts are only newly released into the public, and are a sub-set of the larger 205,000 text subscription database ECCO.
Aggregates high-quality web resources in the 18th century by providing peer-review of digital resources and archives created by scholars in nineteenth-century studies. Thereby provides a model for peer review of digital sources as well as other digital humanities projects in text analysis. Some resources will require InterLibrary Loan to get full text.
American Verse Project
An electronic archive of American poetry prior to 1920, largely focused on the 19th century with some 18th and early 20th century texts. Full-text searchable.
Public access to the literature and history of the antislavery movement, representing "the origins of multicultural literature in the United States". Based at Arizona State and Iowa State, with plans to digitize additional resources in the future, it includes children's literature, slave narratives, poetry, prose, newspapers, and more.
British Women Romantic Poets
From the UC-Davis University Library, an online scholarly archive of poetry by British and Irish women written between 1789 and 1832.
Emory Women Writers Resource Project
Collection of both edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the 17th through the early 20th century. Browsable by author/title; full-text searching also available. Supported by the Beck Center at Emory University.
English Literature: Restoration and 18th Century
From the Luminarium, an independent site with secondary sources as well as full-text works of English literature from the medieval and Renaissance periods and beyond, including Chaucer, Spenser, Milton, and Shakespeare. Each section will include extensive links to primary sources hosted at the Luminarium and elsewhere.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Digitized runs (at least 20 years) of three 18th century and three 19th century journals. From the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford.
Catalog of digital historical newspapers, developed by the University of Florida Libraries. Links to over 1000 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US and Caribbean newspapers as possible.