U.S. Historical News Sources
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersA selection of historical newspaper documents from ProQuest, including the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Boston Globe (1872-1981), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1988), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2008), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and Washington Post (1877-1999).
- Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest)Rich collection important to a full understanding of Unites States history. Includes the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- Ebony Magazine ArchiveOriginally published by John H. Johnson in November 1945, Ebony has served as an influential African-American magazine promoting stories important to the black community and focusing on the achievements of African-American leaders. The Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus, including more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
- Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFully digitized coverage of the African American newspaper Atlanta Daily World from 1931-2003.
- Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFully digitized coverage of the African American newspaper Baltimore Afro-American from 1893 to 1988.
- Bay State Banner (1965-1979) (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to Boston/New England's African American community paper of record from its inception in 1965 until 1979. The current Banner can be accessed online from the Finding News Articles page.
- Boston Globe (1872-present) (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current access to the Boston Globe.
- Chicago Defender: 1910 - 1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFully digitized African American newspaper Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
- Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowProquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849- 1988). The historical Chicago Tribune collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text.
- Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFully digitized African American newspaper Los Angeles Sentinel from 1934 to 2005.
- New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis resource allows researchers to search for full articles in the New York Amsterdam News. Searches provide a PDF of each article as well as an abstract.
- New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993) (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowThe Historical New York Times collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text back to the first issue. Magazine and classifieds included. Go to "Advanced Search"--> "Look up citation" to find a specific article by author, title, page, date and more.
- Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis resource allows researchers to search for full articles in the Pittsburgh Courier. Searches provide a PDF of each article as well as an abstract.
International Historical News Sources
- 17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
- British Library Newspapers (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowFacsimiles of full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
- African Newspapers Series I (Readex/Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowThis collection of historical African newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive provides coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that shaped the continent.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Illustrated London News (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowA historical archive of the Illustrated London News, the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper, from 1842-2003. Includes over 260,000 pages in full facsimile, fully searchable.
- Jewish Studies Source WITH Index to Jewish Periodicals (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Content within the collection is meant to cover all facets of Judaism and multiple areas of study. Over 350 full-text titles including academic journals, abstracts of monographs, newspapers and periodicals, including complete Jewish Telegraphic Agency wire service articles from 1922 to the present.
- Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 (World Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new windowLatin American Newspapers, Series 1—part of CRL's World Newspaper Archive—features 50+ historical Latin American newspapers. Titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
- London Times (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowLondon Times access *not including the Sunday edition* from 1785 to 1985. Also known as The Times Digital Archive, and published under the name Times of London. An invaluable source for primary historical research.
- South Asia Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive) (Readex/Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowSearchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Archives & Special Collections
Northeastern University's Archives & Special Collections contain numerous news publications, some of which are not available online. Visit the Archives & Special Collections website to get help from an archivist.
Boston Globe Collection: Northeastern University’s Archives & Special Collections is pleased to announce the addition of the Boston Globe library archive to Northeastern’s diverse and growing Boston history collections. The Globe archive is a vast collection comprising more than a million photographs, 5.6 million negatives, and decades of clippings from the Globe and other local and national newspapers. The collection, a one-stop-resource documenting the Boston experience — its people, places, and institutions — is open to all researchers.
Boston Phoenix Collection: For nearly 50 years, The Boston Phoenix was Boston’s alternative newspaper of record, the first word on social justice, politics, as well as the arts and music scene. Its intrepid journalists tackled issues from safe sex and AIDS awareness to gay rights, marriage equality, and the legalization of marijuana. It ceased publication in March 2013, but the Phoenix will be preserved for posterity—thanks to owner Stephen Mindich’s decision in September to donate the paper’s archives to Northeastern’s Snell Library.
Note
Access to these resources is restricted to NU students, faculty and staff. If you are accessing these resources from off campus, you will be asked to sign in with your MyNEU credentials.
The Boston Public Library provides access to several historical newspaper archives, including NewspaperArchive.com, Chronicling America, Financial Times Historical Archive, Irish Times, Jewish Advocate and many more. You can view a full list of current and historical newspaper collections on their Newspaper Resources page. You'll need a BPL card or researcher pass in order to access these materials.