Historical and current access to the Boston Globe, one of two major daily newspapers in Boston. Historic content (1872-1990) includes a PDF view of the newspaper including illustrations, charts, and advertisements. After 1990, only text is available. Link to the most recent issue.
Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views.Note: Northeastern has Series 1 only.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 340,000 fully searchable issues from over 730 American newspapers from from 23 states and the District of Columbia.
Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brighams History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and other authoritative bibliographies.
A rich collection important to a full understanding of Unites States history. Includes the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975),Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
