On this page
This page covers mostly United States resources. As mentioned in other pages, there are a variety of ways to find data and statistics and it varies considerably. Look to the country, province or specific area you are interested in. Some sources also do comparisons across countries. This page is a starting point.
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality (AHRQ)
- National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports (NHQDR)Use the tools to inspect states as geographic areas for quality disparities in vulnerable populations to pursue improvement activities. Close the gap in healthcare and healthcare status among racial and ethnic, and socioeconomic groups in the nation.
...presents trends for measures related to access to care, affordable care, care coordination, effective treatment, healthy living, patient safety, and person-centered care. - Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (H-CUP)includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States.
- Medical Expoenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States.
- Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS)an online platform using data from four CAHPS surveys. CAHPS surveys assess patient experience with healthcare facilities, providers, health plans and related programs, and selection conditions. This data tool provides tables and graphs summarizing patient experience.
U.S. National Statistics
Use these to explore United States data.
- Health Resources and Services Admin: National DataHealth Center grantees data.
- Fast Facts on US HospitalsFrom American Hospital Association (AHA)
U.S. Health Data Sets
- CDC- Datasetsfind departmental or topic level data, such as from the National Center for Environmental Health or Injury and Violence data
- Health United States-explore by topicHealth data (including state data) for a variety of ethnicities and age groups for selected topics, including diseases, risk factors, health care expenditures, poverty, preventive care, and more.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care (archive effective June 30, 2024))Medicare data is used to provide analysis at the national, regional and local levels, on how medical resources are distributed and used in the U.S.
- Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (AHRQ)MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care & health insurance coverage. Includes health care disparities, access to health care, the uninsured, medical conditions, men's, women's & children's health, projected data & expenditures, Medicare, Medicaid, obesity, mental health, prescription drugs, quality of health care, state/metro area estimates.
- National Center for Health StatisticsLinks to national survey results, vital statistics, initiatives on aging, minority health, classification of diseases and more.
- PeriStatsAccess to the most current maternal & infant health statistics from 12 gov't agencies, at the U.S., state, county & city level, on preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, c-section rates, health insurance. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, maternal age for many indicators. Compare between states, counties, cities, & the U.S. 60,000 graphs, maps, tables can be exported for reports & presentations.
- Women of Color Health Data Book from the NIH 4th ed.
This link opens in a new window
- AHRQ Data ToolsSearch or browse for a topic.
Includes:
1. Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS®)
2. National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR)
3. Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
International Data Sources
- World Health Organization Data and Statisticsa wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by our Member States.
- United Nations Datasearch or browse by place or topic
- The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)Includes Health Statistics and Key Indicators
We help countries achieve high-performing health systems by measuring health outcomes & the use of health system resources as well as by analysing policies that improve access, efficiency & quality of healthcare. - Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Programcollected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
- UNICEFInteractive data visualizations
The Data Team generates data-driven thought products that inform evidence-based programme strategy and advocacy and help to identify emerging areas where children are in need
Grey Literature: Government Sources
Grey literature simply defined is items like government reports, white papers, documents and reports from organizations. Essentially, they are not in a formal structured publication like a journal.
- Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)Access to publications, data & statistics.
- Evidence Search/NICE-National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceProvides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub (UK)connects healthcare staff and learners to high quality, NHS-funded, knowledge and evidence resources in one place, using a single search.