Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Resources: Databases for Biology
Use this link for direct full-text access to Northeastern's resources through PubMed.
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. For tips on searching efficiently and effectively in PubMed, click here
Biological Abstracts, the premier database of research in Biology and related disciplines. International coverage of scholarly articles, books and book chapters, meetings and conferences, patents and software. 1969-present, updated weekly.
Embase is a versatile and up-to-date biomedical research database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day with more than 32+ million records from 8,200 journals and ‘grey literature’ from over 2.4 million conference abstracts. Embase includes unique non-English content and coverage of the most important types of evidence, such as randomized controlled trials, controlled clinical trials, Cochrane reviews and meta-analyses.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database that broadly covers all of the sciences with strengths in natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences. Great for interdisciplinary research, it also includes coverage of social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 73 million records.
bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints
in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. For more information on bioRxiv and its policies, click here
An independent online publishing house; provides immediate free access to the peer-reviewed biological and medical research. BMC has a profile of approximately 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Published by the Public Library of Science, an open access, peer-reviewed journal; features works in all areas of biological science, including works that interface with other disciplines such as chemistry, medicine and mathematics.
Compendex with Inspec (Engineering Village)
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, including peer reviewed journals, professional literature, conference proceedings, book series, dissertations, and trade publications. A broad view of engineering is included with research information from the fields of nanotechnology, bioengineering, food science, medical devices, and more.
Combining your search with INSPEC adds a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research and professional literature to your results. On the main search page, use the toggle checkboxes to include or exclude Compendex or Inspec from your search.
Market research reports and forecasts covering a wide scope of industries and technologies including the sciences.
Still not having any luck? Make an appointment with your librarian! I am available for either in person or web consults.
The BioCyc web portal from SRI International contains genome and metabolic-pathway information for nearly 20,000 databases including 60 curated databases. BioCyc encyclopedias are unique in integrating a diverse range of data and providing a high level of curation for important microbes.
NCBI Datasets is an experimental resource for finding and building datasets. Their web interface allows you to download genome sequence and annotation for eukaryotic organisms. For access to data for all organisms, including bacteria and viruses, use their command line tool and RESTful APIs.
Featured Resource: JoVE, The Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a science video resource that includes a variety of resources for use in the classroom and in the lab. It has two components:
- Science Education Video Collection: Teaching-focused videos including concept animations, ‘scientist in action’ videos to see concepts applied, and lab manual videos that cover preparation procedures for common labs
- Video Journal: A peer-reviewed video methods journal, consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols of new and standard methods in physical and life sciences. Students and researchers can see the details of experiments and concepts, in addition to text-based descriptions.
What is a preprint?
A preprint is an article that is published prior to peer review, allowing scientists to see and discuss works immediately. As these articles are published before peer review, they may not be finalized by authors and some errors may appear. Advantages include the dissemination of scientific information in a timely manner, as the length of the peer review and publication process can be time consuming, and gives the authors the opportunity to receive feedback on their manuscript prior to journal submission. As a reader of preprints, it is important to remember that these articles have not yet been peer reviewed or accepted by a journal. Preprints are typically stored in preprint databases such as arXiv or bioRxiv.
You can learn more about preprints, including answers to some commonly asked questions, at ASAPBio. ASAPBio is a scientist-driven non-profit promoting transparency and innovation in life science communication.
Finding journal articles
A-Z E-Journal Search
Search over 13,000 e-journals available through Northeastern
Search a complete list of databases available through Northeastern. Use the dropdown menus at the top of the page to limit to particular subjects or types of content.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research. Search results include books (both print and electronic), articles, videos, data sets, and more.
If we don't have access to an article you need...
Try using Northeastern's Interlibrary Loan system to freely request books or articles not available at NU.
Recent Biology Acquisitions