It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Sign Language (ASL) and Interpreting: Home
A guide to resources and research on the language and linguistics of American Sign Language (ASL), the American Deaf Community and its culture, and ASL/English interpreting.
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics in American Sign Language (ASL). Use the tabs at the top of the page to help you locate background information on your topic, articles, books, and more.
If you need assistance with your research or help using library resources, please contact me, schedule an appointment, or Ask a Librarian.
Northeastern Library offers current and archival access to the New York Times. Please use this link for registration with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com or use the New York Times app on a smartphone or device.
If you have an existing paid subscription to NYtimes.com, you will need to first cancel it by contacting email@example.com or calling 800-591-9233.
Scholarly articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Scholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.
This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Multidisciplinary database with citation information from high impact research journals.
Northeastern's subscription includes:Web of Science Core Collection (Arts and humanities, social sciences and Science Citation indexes)
Biosis Citation Index
Current Contents Connect
Data Citation Index
Derwent Innovations Index
KCI-Korean Journal Database
SciELO Citation Index
Review profiles with basic information for a variety of language families, including sign languages. Profiles include information on estimated user population, locations spoken, dialects, typology, and more.
Search for a Book or Video
Search for books, videos, and journals in the library catalog section of Scholar OneSearch.