Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Analytics: Finding e-Books

A guide to resources supporting students who are in various analytic, business intelligence, and strategic management courses.

Books are another important resource for research. How you use them, and how you cite them, will depend on the type of book.

  • A Monograph is a detailed book on a subject. The entire book is written by either a single person, or a team working together.
  • An Anthology or an edited book are books with chapters on distinct topics related to a central theme. Each chapter is written by different authors and the volume is overseen by an editor.
  • Reference books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference material. They often include many short articles intended to introduce readers to a topic.

eBook Collections

Search Terms to Consider

Consider using some of these search terms to get you started. You can play around with the key terms in our ScholarOne Search, our Ebook libraries, or in our databases.

Big Data
Big data -- management
Big data --congresses
Blockchains
Business - data processing
Business forecasting
Business forecasting -- data processing
Business intelligence
Business intelligence -- data processing
Business logistics -- Decision making
Business planning
Business planning -- statistical methods
Data analytics
Data analytics
Data mining
Data mining - congresses
Data warehousing
Database management
Databases
Datasets
Decision support systems
Econometric models
Electronic data processing -- distributed processing
Finance -- mathematical models
Information resources management
Investment analysis -- mathematical models
Management -- mathematical models
Management information systems

Get started with Scholar OneSearch

Scholar OneSearch can be a great place to start your research.  Search results include books (both print and electronic), articles, videos, data sets, and more.  

Tips for using Scholar OneSearch

To find books or e-books, you'll want to use Scholar OneSearch. ScholarOne Search searches many of the library's databases, including e-book databases and the library catalog.

By default ScholarOne Search results will include books, e-books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It's often helpful to limit your search to a particular material type, such as books or e-books. To do this, use the options in the Filter My Results pane on the left side of the screen. Select the material type(s) you're interested in and click 'Apply'. You can also exclude material types from your search. Hover over the material type and click the red check box that appears after the material type label.

  • Try using the advanced search to specify a subject and author you are interested in at the same time. 
  • Sign in to Scholar OneSearch to see additional results. Some databases, such as Web of Science, won't allow their results to populate Scholar OneSearch for anyone who is not signed in. 
  • Use the filters on the left hand side of the search results page. Some of the most popular filters are material type (to limit to a specific type of research such as an e-book or e-journal), author/creator (to see who is prominently publishing in the field), and year (to limit to research in a particular time period). 

If we don't have access to an article or book you need...

Try using Northeastern's Interlibrary Loan system to request books, book chapters, or articles not available at NU. Articles can be delivered electronically. 

To find books or e-books, you'll want to use Scholar OneSearch - the Northeastern Library Catalog. 

Once you've searched for the topic you're interested in (ex. 'bioengineering and stem cells'), Scholar OneSearch will return a list of as many materials as possible related to your topic. This will include books and e-books, as well as some articles, videos, dissertations, and more.

The easiest way to search Scholar OneSearch is to limit your search to a particular material type, such as books or e-books. To do this, use the filter on the left hand side of the screen to select the material type(s) you're interested in and click 'Apply'. You can also exclude material types from your search by hovering over the material type and clicking the red check box on the right hand side of the material type.