This is the "Home" page of the "Massachusetts State, Local, and Regional Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Massachusetts State, Local, and Regional Information  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/state-local Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Library Resource

Introducing PolicyFile

Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.

 

Library Quick Links

  • Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.

Key Resources

Welcome students in POLS 2350!  

This page provides resources to support your Fall 2014 LegSim project and related research.

The research tools below will help you find journal articles on political institutions, processes, behavior, politics, and public policy at the state and local level.  Many articles provide in-depth analysis of the policy issues you'll investigate as part of the bill drafting process. Newspaper and other media resources provide information about current issues and current events; historical newspapers provide insight into policy debates over time.

Look at other Library Guides for advice on article search tools in a variety of subject, for example, crime, sustainability, health, technology, and education.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of political science, public policy, and public administration. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including public policy and public adminstration, urban studies, and transportation studies. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years.
  • Social Sciences Premium Collection
    Includes PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Social Services Abstracts, and a number of full-text journal collections. Databases may be searched individually or as a group.
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic
    Lexis-Nexis Academic is one of the major sources for full-text newspaper articles. A number of local papers are included in this resource.
  • Boston Globe, Historical and Contemporary, 1872 to present
  • Web of Science
    The Web of Science provides access to citation data for approximately 8,700 high-impact journals across the disciplines.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Roxanne Palmatier
Contact Info
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-4968
Send Email
Education:

BA - Bucknell University

MS in LS - University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip