Skip to main content

Sociology : Honors 1205-05 Dealing with Drugs

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

The Global Perspective

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime and the World Drug Report 2017

Interpol / Drugs

European Commission Justice-Drug Policy 

EMCDDA European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction's European Drug Report 2018  (Check National Statistics and Data for Country information)

 

International Narcotics Control Board (INDB) includes new reports and statistics

By Country

Country Information (from the International Affairs Subject Guide)

Europa World Year Book (covers over 250 countries and territories) The latest editions are shelved in Snell Reference on the 3rd floor;

United States--Federal Policies and Enforcement

US --federal level policies and enforcement

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) covers prescription and illegal substances


Office of National Drug Control Policy (check the page for state-level information)
Code of the West, is about the Montana repeal of medical marijuana and federal policies and enforcement. View "The Fight Over Medical Marijuana" trailer.

Webpages for Marijuana Venture: the Journal of Professional Cannabis Growers and Retailers  This is BIG business!

States

News -- type of content -- includes Boston Globe, LexisNexis (News)

NIH: Area Reports for June 2014

State Prescription Drug Monitoring Programs prepared by the National Alliance for State Drug Laws

New Prescription Guidelines  a collection of articles from Pacific Standard

Reference/Overview Resources

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences

A search for substance abuse retrieved over 150 articles
Check the bibliographies for more resources.

Looking for Numbers?


Click on the image above to access price information.

Scholarly Blog

  can locate blogs on
"medical marijuana" massachusetts

addiction stigma

Your Librarian

Christine Oka's picture
Christine Oka
Contact:
Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Research and Writing Support

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians and subject guides.

Digital Media Commons     Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources.

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

Update

New research on age when opioid medication is prescribed--a link to future addiction?

Richard MiechLloyd JohnstonPatrick M. O’MalleyKatherine M. KeyesKennon Heard

Drug Courts

Finding Articles

Articles from the Boston Globe

Try out searches for recreational marijuana   then   "recreational marijuana".
The database searches like Google!

Medical Marijuana

 
Click on the LEGAL tab for state and federal laws


Is medical marijuana medicine?

Looking for medical research articles on marijuana? Try PubMed Central (PMC) For the search below, we used the dropdown feature to limit the search for "cannabis extracts" to the title of the article.

Data

This INCB essay, "Comments on the Reported Statistics on Narcotic Drugs"  explains the importance of critically evaluating data.with opioid and opiate tables and charts. 

The above chart was used in a VOX newstory. and is cited: 

Take a break

From addiction to recreational use. . . by a dog. Listen to the NPR story.

11 charts that show marijuana has gone mainstream, an analysis from The Washington Post.

The Environmental Footprint of Weed from PSmag.com