Skip to main content

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences : Articles

A guide to online and print resources in pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences.

Core Resources for Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Top pharmacology and drug information databases

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Datasbase)  High quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

AccessPharmacy -- online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.

Facts & Comparisons Clinical eAnswers  contains authoritative and comprehensive drug information with standards for reliability.  In addition to descriptions, generic and commercial names, dosage, warnings, it includes a drug/disease indications database, dosage, body measurement, and general pharmacology calculators, patient handouts, and much more for the health professional, and pharmacy and pharmacology researcher. 

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts   A comprehensive index covering 40 years of worldwide pharmaceutical literature.  Includes health journals, major pharmacy meetings, and all U.S. state pharmacy journals. Covers biopharmaceutics and pharmacokinetics, new drug delivery systems, pharmacist liability, and legal, political, and ethical issues.

 Medline (Ebscohost)   Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, and the equivalent of PubMed. Includes links to NU's full text journals, and can be searched with CINAHL and PsycInfo.   

Micromedex   NOTE: Use is prohibited in a clinical setting. Warning: Neofax only supports the Internet Explorer browser. Includes the following resources: DRUGDEX®, DrugNotes, RED BOOK™ Online, DISEASEDEX™, POISINDEX®,  Lab Advisor®, AltMedDex®, DRUG-REAX®, IDENTIDEX®, IV INDEX®, CareNotes®, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer as well as access to medical calculators and more Micromedex solutions. For mobile device options, see: mobileMicromedex_solutions.

PubMed (open access) The free version of Medline.  This link to PubMed has been set up to link to the content to which NU subscribes.  Look for the Husky "check for full text" symbol on the far right in your search results. 

 

Other health and science databases for pharmacy

 Academic Search Complete   NEW: more full text added. Searches over 6,000 scholarly journals covering all academic subjects.

Alt-HealthWatch   Offers full text articles for nearly 180 international journals, many of which are peer-reviewed and scholarly, as well as reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. 

BIOSIS Previews (1969- present)   Comprehensive database of scholarly research in Biology  

Books@OVID    Books in nursing and medicine primarily, with some pharmacy and pharmacology titles.

Business Source Complete   Premium content of business-related journals, including peer-reviewed and trade journals.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) Complete   The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 600 journals indexed in CINAHL. Contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index from 1981-present. 

Cochrane Library   High-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Full text.

Health Reference Center   Access to 5 million articles from peer-reviewed nursing, allied health, medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, 2,500 topical overviews, newspaper articles and reference books. Also includes videos of medical procedures.

Lippincott, Williams, and Wilkins Journals@OVID    Over 270 core medical, nursing, pharmacology journals. Full text.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection   A select collection of full-text articles in psychology from chiefly peer-reviewed journals.

R2 Library   Full text reference books and textbooks in health sciences (about 3 in the library's subscription are pharmacology titles) from key health science publishers. Fully searchable and includes A-Z drug and topic indexes.   

ScienceDirect   Selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates.

SciFinder   Provides searching of Chemical Abstracts, 1907 - present

Springer LINK online journals   Note: Selected titles only.

Web of Science   Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 8,500 high impact research journals.

Short List of Core Resources

Best resources for a literature search:

Best citation analysis tool: 

New York Times health research news

Loading ...

JoVE - the Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. 

The Library subscribes to the following sections of JoVE:  BiologyNeuroscience, Bioengineering, Immunology and Infection, and sections of JoVE Science Education Database (Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, Chemistry, and Physics). Essentials of Neuroscience is part of the Advanced Biology section.

Interlibrary Loan

Need an article?  Request articles that are not available at NU through ILLiadour interlibrary loan service.

Ask a Librarian

Get Help from a Librarian 

Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit