Admin Sign In 

ESL (English as a Second Language) Research at Northeastern University Libraries 

A collection of links and resources to help find information related to ESL (English as a Second Language)
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/esl  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  

International Foreign Language Newspapers Online!

  • Library PressDisplay  
      
    Today's headlines and news stories from international newspapers; RSS feeds also available. Archived for up to 60 days. View images of the actual pages of international newspapers!
 

Quick NUcat Search

Search for books and journals in our library catalog, NUcat. Does not search articles.

 
 

Welcome!

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: We're currently testing an online language learning product called Mango Languages! Available languages include English as a Second Language for speakers of Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, or Polish, as well as Brazilian Portuguese, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, Polish, Russian, and Spanish (all for speakers of English). You can try it here: Try Mango Languages!

Be sure to let me know what you think of the product, so that when the trial is over at the end of October, we can make a decision about purchasing it more permanently. My email address is in the box to the right. Enjoy!

Here you will find a collection of resources related to (ESL) English as a Second Language, both learning and teaching. If you have suggestions for additional content for this guide, don't hesitate to let me know! The Feedback box at the bottom of the right-hand column is a good way to do this.

You may also want to check the website for Northeastern's English Language Center, which contains other helpful information related to the study of the English language at Northeastern. Another service that may be helpful is Northeastern's Writing Center, where you can get assistance in writing and editing your papers.

If you are a student of English as a second language but are doing research in another subject area, such as business or health care, for example, I recommend you check the NU Libraries' guide for that subject, by clicking the LibGuides Home link at the top left of this page.

Feel free to contact me for research assistance -- my contact info is in the profile box at the right. If I'm not available you may also want to try the Library's Ask a Librarian page.

Popular Research Databases

Here are some of your best options for finding articles related to ESL (English as a Second Language).

  • Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)  
      
    Full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles covering all academic subjects.
  • MLA Bibliography (EbscoHost)  
      
    Core index for literature, folklore, language, and linguistics, with good coverage of many additional cultural forms like film, music, and theater. Includes listings for journal articles, books, proceedings, book chapters, and dissertations back to 1926.
  • ERIC (CSA)  
      
    Contains citations to documents related to all aspects of education (comes from the US Dept. of Education).
  • PsycINFO  
      
    The American Psychological Association's flagship database of 2.4 million articles, books, and other international documents in psychology going back over a century.
  • JSTOR  
      
    High-quality, full-text interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select books and other materials valuable for academic work. Full-text searchable.
  • Humanities International Complete (EbscoHost)  
      
    Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources, including all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content.

Additional Databases in Related Areas That May Help

Here are some databases from other disciplines or subject areas that may have some connections to ESL (English as a Second Language).

  • Communications and Mass Media Complete (EbscoHost)  
      
    For research in areas related to communication and mass media. Significant full text is available.
  • Sociological Abstracts (CSA)  
      
    Find articles, book reviews, etc., from over 1,800 journals from the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Also includes listings for books, book chapters, and conference papers.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 8,500 high impact research journals. Covers 1993 to present.
 

Contact me!

Profile ImageRebecca Merz
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
270 Snell Library
(617) 373-2344
Send Email

Subjects:

Computer and Information Science,

Modern Languages and Literatures,

American Sign Language (ASL),

ESL (English as a Second Language),

Sports/Recreation/Leisure

Background and Experience
Northeastern University Libraries since July 2004. Prior work in libraries at Lafayette College (PA), Boston Architectural College, and Yale University.

Education
MLS, Simmons College, 2003.

BA, linguistics, Yale University, 1998.

Associations
Member of American Library Association and Association of College and Research Libraries

Feedback?

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait