This is the "Home" page of the "Nanotechnology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nanotechnology  

This guide provides a starting point for research in Nanotechnology and related disciplines at Northeastern
Last Updated: May 30, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/content.php?pid=59271 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Faculty in the News

 

Ebooks

SpringerLink Books

Online access to full text of 50,000 books and book series from Springer Publishing. The strength of Springer Publishing is in the sciences, including computer science, medicine, life sciences, materials science, physics and astronomy, and engineering.

 

Funding and Grants

PIVOT (funding opportunities)

is a database for locating funds for grants, fellowships, prizes and other types of funding from the public and private sector, including governments, foundations, and corporations.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Fragments of Fullerenes and Carbon Nanotubes - Lawrence T. Scott (Editor); Marina A. Petrukhina (Editor); Harold W. Kroto (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780470569085
Publication Date: 2011
This book is the first of its kind to reflect upon the intense and rapidly growing interest in open geodesic polyaromatic molecules, specifically focusing on their synthesis and reactivity in metal binding reactions. The book broadly covers all aspects related to the fullerene fragment chemistry: current synthetic techniques, description of the available members of this new family (which has grown to more than two dozens members, with none being available commercially), molecular geometry and trends in the solid state packing, as well as extensions into physical properties and new buckybowl-based molecules and materials. It covers fundamental research related to a new of hydrocarbons, namely open geodesic polyarenes that map onto the surfaces of fullerenes (and referred to as “fullerene fragments” or buckybowls).


Cover Art
Environmental Silicate Nano-Biocomposites - Luc Avérous (Editor); Eric Pollet (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447141013
Publication Date: 2012
Environmental Silicate Nano-Biocomposites focuses on nano-biocomposites, which are obtained by the association of silicates such as bioclays with biopolymers. By highlighting recent developments and findings, green and biodegradable nano-composites from both renewable and biodegradable polymers are explored. This includes coverage of potential markets such as packaging, agricultures, leisure and the fast food industry.The knowledge and experience of more than twenty international experts in diverse fields, from chemical and biochemical engineering to applications, is brought together in four different sections covering:Biodegradable polymers and Silicates,Clay/Polyesters Nano-biocomposites,Clay/Agropolymers Nano-biocomposites, andApplications and biodegradation of Nano-biocomposites.By exploring the relationships between the biopolymer structures, the processes, and the final properties Environmental Silicate Nano-Biocomposites explains how to design nano-materials to develop new, valuable, environmentally friendly properties and uses. The combination of fundamental and applied science makes this an ideal reference for a range of readers from students and lecturers to material and polymer scientists and even industrial engineers who are interested in bringing new environmental nano-materials to the current market.

 

Welcome

FEATURED RESOURCE: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

This guide has nanotechnology resources in many disciplines including biology, chemistry, engineering, the medical sciences, physics and the social sciences.

For help:

·     Contact me for a consultation

·     Text

·     Email us

·     Get online chat help 24/7

·     Visit or call Snell Library Research Assistance Desk 617-373-2356 during our office hours.

Key Resources

For books, search Scholar OneSearch, limiting to Library catalogs

For articles in general periodicals, newspapers, trade magazines and academic journals search Academic Search Premier (Ebscohost) or subject databases.

Examples include:

For chemistry topics, search SciFinder  Provides searching of Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present.

For medicine and biology topics, search Medline and BIOSIS Previews.

For engineering and computer science topics, search Compendex and IEEE/IEL Electronic LIbrary/Xplore. 

For articles in high impact journals covering a wide range of subjects especially engineering and subjects search:

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) and

Web of Science 

      
     

    What is Nanotechnology?

    Nanotechnology is the understanding and control of matter at dimensions between approximately 1 and 100 nanometers, where unique phenomena enable novel applications. Encompassing nanoscale science, engineering, and technology, nanotechnology involves imaging, measuring, modeling, and manipulating matter at this length scale. (from National Nanotechnology Initiative)

     

    History of Nanotechnology

    Richard Feynman was the first scientist to suggest that devices and materials could someday be fabricated to atomic specifications: "The principles of physics, as far as I can see, do not speak against the possibility of maneuvering things atom by atom." Later the term nanotechnology was coined. Today nanotechnology is reshaping technology. A short History of Nanotechnology from the Foresight Institute.

    Nanotechnology FAQ's

     

     

    Feedback?

    About This Guide
    Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

    About the Collection
    Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

    About the Library
    Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Joan Omoruyi
    Contact Info
    Reference Desk: 617-373-2356
    Office: 617-373-2806
    Send Email
    Education:
    ABD University of Benin

    MSc University of Benin

    MSLS Rutgers University

    Your Librarian

    Profile Image
    Sandy Dunphy
    Contact Info
    Snell Library
    617-373-5322
    Send Email
    Education:
    MLIS Simmons College

    BA Marietta College

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Kathy Herrlich
    Contact Info
    617-373-5305
    Send Email
    Education:
    BA History, University of Vermont; MLIS Simmons College

    Additional NU Resources for Nanotechnology

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip