Research Subject Guides: Human Services: Get Started

Key Resources

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.

Use this link if you want to include video clips from the Associated Press in your search results.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health 2nd ed. (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly signed and referenced articles with an interdisciplinary approach to public health.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015) This link opens in a new window
A source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broad, deep and scholarly. Comprehensive name and subject tagging, signed articles and references.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, DSM-5-TR, and additional related materials.

ICD-11 , the 11th revision of the International Classification of Diseases by the World Health Organization

National Institutes of Health. PROMIS (Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System
Other measurement systems are described on Health Measures

PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links for Northeastern-subscribed materials.
Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
PTSDPubs This link opens in a new window
PTSDpubs helps you find information about post-traumatic stress, related effects of trauma, and mental health sequelae. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
- What this includes articles from journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, and technical reports. 1871 to present.
Proquest Sociology This link opens in a new window
Full text articles about sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and more.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
An online collection of information for beginning and advanced researchers looking for the best methods to use in their research. Full access to Books & Reference, Cases Part 1, Datasets Part 1, and Video: Practical Research and Academic Skills.