Key Resource
Oxford Music Online (Current NU plus Alumni)
This robust information tool includes Grove Music Online, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Grove Music Online includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations. Including 50,000 signed articles and 28,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the "unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music."
New England Conservatory Library Loan Policy
Declared music majors and NU Music Department faculty members, whether full-time or part-time, are eligible to borrow materials from NEC. You must first register at the Spaulding Library crculation desk; your names will be checked against the annual list sent by the NU Music Department.
The library catalog and information about the library, including hours, are available at http://www.newenglandconservatory.edu/libraries
Students may not borrow audio-visual materials, but may use them in the Firestone Library. Faculty may borrow sound recordings for a maximum period of one week.
Use of the NEC library by NU students and faculty is governed by the regulations applicable to NEC students and faculty. Library materials charged out to NU borrowers are subject to immediate recall if needed by any recognized NEC performance group or for class reserves.
Failure to notify the Spaulding Library circulation desk of changes of address or phone will result in cancellation of your borrowing and listening/viewing privileges.
Welcome
Welcome to the NU Libraries Music page. I welcome your comments and suggestions.
Ask 24/7 offers online help from a reference librarian in real time,
from your office, home, or dorm room.
Librarians from NU or other libraries are standing by now to help you!
to search Northeastern University Libraries collections to find
books, scores, journals, video and sound.
You may browse for books, scores, and music media in the stacks on the 2nd floor, in the Library of Congress M-MT range. Other M-MT materials are available in Reference, 1st floor, and Oversize, 2nd floor.
Library Media Production Facility
617-373-2465
The Digital Media Design Studio (DMDS) is a collaborative and interdisciplinary learning environment for creating course-related multimedia presentations, projects and portfolios. We provide services, technologies and instructional support for recording, digitizing and editing various audio, video and image resources, enabling you to create new digital scholarly work.
Monday-Thursday 10 am - 10 pm
Friday 10 am - 8pm
Copyright Information: Music Library Association
Collection Manager |
Debra MandelHead, Digital Media Design Studio
200 Snell Library
617-373-4902
Send Email
Subjects:
Cinema Studies, Music
About me
I direct DMDS operations, services and programs; manage cinema studies and music collections and oversee assistive technlogy instruction.
Publications
I currently write reviews for Educational Media Reviews Online.
Education
MS in Library Science, Simmons College; CAGS in Instructional Technology, Boston University and BS in Journalism, Boston University.
Associations
Active in Consortium of College and University Media Centers; American Library Association, Video Roundtable; Boston Library Consortium, Music and Media Community of Interest Group; New England Music Library Association and Boston Area Music Librarians.
Visual Music Collection
The 158 works in NU Libraries' CD and DVD Visual Music Collection were curated by NU Music Professor Dennis Miller Professor and shown at the Visual Music Marathon, April 28, 2007 held at Northeastern University, as part of the 2007 Boston Cyberarts Festival.
Use NUCAT to locate this collection, under a visual music word search, and limited search to "video,music, and sound." These programs are available for access at the Circulation Desk, for viewing in the classroom by faculty and in library viewing carrels.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait