New! AccessMedicine, AccessPhysiotherapy, AccessPharmacy
![]()
Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. First, create a My AccessMedicine or MyAccessPharmacy account from an on-site computer by clicking on the link at the top right of the page. Go to AccessMedicine.com on your mobile browser. Enter your My AccessMedicine username/password when prompted.
- AccessMedicinefrom McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides access to 77 core medical texts, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, USMLE practice questions, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians.
- AccessPhysiotherapya comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 20 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
- AccessPharmacyAccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.
Snell Library News Summer 2013
New! Check out the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter to learn more about the upcoming changes at the University Libraries.
Read more about Snell Library's new login system.
Library services during Summer 2013 construction.
Links to Basic Library Resources and Services
NuCat (library catalog)
E-journal Listing (includes a list of all e-journals at NU)
All Databases and Trials (complete A-Z list of databases)
Interlibrary Loan (request books or articles not available at NU)
Citation Guides (includes AMA, APA, MLA, CSE and more)
EndNote (software for managing your citations)
RefWorks (software for managing your citations)
Online Help (email, chat, texting)
Off-campus Access to Resources
Recent PubMed Articles
NEW! CINAHL Upgrade! CINAHL Plus with Full Text Now Available!
Our CINAHL subscription has recently been upgraded to the more comprehensive CINAHL Plus with Full-Text, which provides access to the literature in nursing and 17 allied health disciplines.
Expanded content includes:
Indexing for 4,995 journals, including virtually all English-language nursing journals and selected titles in biomedicine, consumer health and alternative therapies.
· Full-text for more than 760 journals
· Full-text coverage dating back to 1937
· Full-text for more than 275 books
· Full-text for 360 Research Instruments Records
· Full-text for more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets (2 page PDF summaries of treatment care for many conditions, and includes the latest evidence, statistics, research and references).
· Full-text for almost 170 Quick Lessons (2 page PDF summaries for many diseases and conditions, including cause, clinical presentation, assessment, treatment, and references).
· Full-text for more than 160 Continuing Education Units (CEU’s).
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text continues to index nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters, and publications from the American Nurses’ Association and the National League for Nursing.
Interprofessional Education, Research and Practice
Definitions
"The goal of this interprofessional learning is to prepare all health professions students for deliberatively working together with the common goal of building a safer and better patient-centered and community/population oriented U.S. health care system".
(Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice: Report of an expert panel. Washington, D.C.: Interprofessional Education Collaborative, May 2011, p. 3).
Interprofessional Education: "When students from two or more professions learn about, from and with each other to enable effective collaboration and improve health outcomes" (WHO 2010)
Interprofessional Collaborative Pracitce"When multiple health workers from different professional backgrounds work together with patients, families, carers, and communities to deliver the highest quality of care". (WHO, 2010)
Interprofessional Team-based Care: Care delivered by intentionally created, usually relatively small work groups in health care, who are recognized by others as well as by themselves as having a collective identity and shared responsibility for a patient or group of patients, e.g. rapid response team, palliative care team, primary care team, operating room team.
Beginning Your Research
Tackling a new topic?
If you need an overview of a topic or need to know the current state of research in a field, try looking for review articles. They identify historical and current trends in the research, imortant scholars in the field, foundational articles, major discoveries, areas for further exploration, and current controversies.
Many databases allow you to limit your search to include only review articles.
How do I find review articles?
Begin by searching PubMed. Enter your search terms in the search box. On the next screen click on "Review" to retrieve only review articles.
Search Web of Science, which indexes 11,000 high impact research journals. Enter your search terms in the search box. On the next screen, refine your search by selecting "Reviews" under the "Document Type" options.
Recommended Readings
Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice: this report is inspired by a vision of interprofessional collaborative practice as key to the safe, high quality, accessible, patient-centered care desired by all. Sponsored by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative.
Educating for the Health Team: this report came out of the first IOM Conference in 1972 on "Interrelationships of Educational Programs for Health Professionals", where 120 leaders from allied health, dentistry, medicine, nursing and pharmacy considered key questions at the forefront of contemporary national discussions about interprofessional education.
Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: nursing, nutrition, physical therapy, physician assistant, public health, speech language pathology, audiology Education: MS Library & Information Science, Simmons College BA Marietta College Associations: ACRL/New England Chapter |
Need Help?
Contact me for an appointment s.dunphy@neu.edu
Visit the Research Assistance desk on the second floor of Snell Library or call 617-373-2356.
Online Help: Email, Chat, Text
Interprofessinal Education @ NU
- Today's Healthcare is a Team SportThe Bouvé College of Health Sciences supports a collaborative approach to healthcare and research, as demonstrated at the 6th annual Interprofessional Research Symposium last week.
Journal of Research In Interprofessional Practice and education--Recent Articles
Loading...
Journal of Interprofessional Care
Loading...


Loading...
