Browse Books
Ebooks from Snell Library
APA ebooks
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology (Volume 1) by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2013This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing: industrial/organizational psychology clinical psychology (including health psychology) counseling psychology school psychology educational testing In each of these five areas, this handbook is probably the most comprehensive review of the use of testing and assessment in the subfield.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology:
Vol. 2, Testing and assessment in clinical and counseling psychology
Vol. 3, Testing and assessment in school psychology and education
The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Psychology by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780195376746Publication Date: 2013this volume's 64 chapters cover all aspects of cognition, spanning perceptual issues, attention, memory, knowledge representation, language, emotional influences, judgment, problem solving, and the study of individual differences in cognition. Additional chapters turn to the control of complex actions and the social, cultural, and developmental context of cognition...
Older DSMs
NOTE: There has been a change. Older editions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders are no longer included in our PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection (Opens in new window) package.
You may be able to find a free PDF of the edition that you need, such as this 1987 DSM III-R in the Internet Archive. Please contact me if you are unable to find the edition that you need.
Sage Research Methods
Check Sage's Research Basics page for Psychology (Opens in new window)and for Counseling and Psychotherapy(Opens in new window).
Use the Project Planner(Opens in new window) to get an overview of the research process.
Little Blue Books (Opens in new window) cover qualitative methods (answering questions such as "How do I research drug-related violence?")
Little Green Books(Opens in new window) cover quantitative methods (answering questions such as "Where can I learn more about analysis of variance?")
New encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016The book contains 245 peer-reviewed articles written by more than 250 expert authors and provides essential material on assessment, theories of personality, specific disorders, therapies, forensic issues, ethics, and cross-cultural and sociological aspects.
FOR A PEEK INSIDE: for example, see this entry on Awe and the Natural Environment (Opens in new window) or this one on Eating Disorders (Opens in new window)
Book Catalog
IMPORTANT: Within Scholar OneSearch, limit your search to "Boston Catalogs" in the drop down menu to find books and ebooks.
Ebooks
APA Books E-collection (Opens in new window) contains the full text of 80 books relating to behavioral sciences from the American Psychological Association.