Featured New Resources
Micromedex: Evidence based information which includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions. Please note: This resource is NOT to be used in Clinical settings due to licensing restrictions.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research 3rd .ed 2012. Springer Pub.
Anatomy TV Primal Pictures: multimedia suite of interactive modules featuring 3D anatomical models of the human body. Modules include systemic and regional anatomy, sports and therapy, surgery and specialty titles including Speech language pathology and more.
MD Consult: authoritative evidence-based medical information. Includes 80 full-text medical journals, Clinics Review Articles, 50 leading medical texts, 1000 practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, current drug information, 50,000 medical images, medical news. Search within First Consult for information on medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures.
ANA Nursing Standards now available online: electronic versions of ANA scope and standards of practice publications are available through NuCat, the Library's catalog.
Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciences: online biomedical topics, including audio lectures & supplemental materials such as slides & notes, by faculty members & researchers from around the world.
JAMA & Archives Journals Backfiles Collection: rich digital archive includes every issue of JAMA and Archives Journals published from 1883 to 1997.
Encyclopedia of Global Health covers all aspects of global health, including physical/mental health. Includes public policy topics, biographies, profiles of medical institutions, organizations and corporations.
Facts & Comparisons Clinical eAnswers: authoritative & comprehensive drug information. Includes a drug/disease indications database, dosage, body measurement, and general pharmacology calculators, patient handouts.
Links to Basic Library Resources and Services
NuCat (library catalog)
E-journal Finder (search by journal title to see if NU subscribes to an e-journal)
All Databases and Trials (complete A-Z list of databases)
Interlibrary Loan (request books or articles not available at NU)
Citation Guides (includes APA, MLA, CSE and more)
EndNote (software for managing your citations)
RefWorks (software for managing your citations)
Need Help? (email, chat, text us!)
Off-campus Access to Resources
Selelcted Speech Language Pathology & Audiology Journals
These journals are available full text online (current NU only)
- American Journal of Audiology
- American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology
- Canadian Journal of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
- Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology
- Journal of Speech and Language Pathology, Applied Behavior Analysis
- Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
- Language and Speech
- Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools
- Topics in Language Disorders
Welcome!
New! Check out the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter to learn more about the upcoming changes at the University Libraries.
Read more about Snell Library's new login system.
Library services during Summer 2013 construction.
Database Trials
Embase Trial ends May 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! Please let us know if this supports your research, teaching or learning at NU!
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Embase provides extensive and reliable coverage of the peer-reviewed biomedical literature, along with in-depth indexing and powerful search and information management tools.
Embase offers information so that you can comply with legislation and regulations for drug safety and pharmacovigilance, study detailed drug information (including adverse events, comparisons, and therapy), and support decision-making with high-quality preclinical and clinical information.
Pharmacological research and pharmacology information is indexed by biomedical experts using Elsevier’s life science thesaurus, Emtree. All of this makes Embase an indispensable tool for the many professionals working in pharmacology research.
Global Health & Global Health Archive Trial ends April 28, 2013.
We appreciate your feedback! Please let us know if this supports your research, teaching or learning at NU!
This is the only specialized bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health. It covers international medical and health research by capturing key literature not covered by other databases, including international literature.
Subjects include biomedical life sciences, chronic diseases, diagnosis and therapy, epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, health systems, health promotion, nutrition, public health emergencies, tropical and international health. Publications are from over 158 countries in 50 languages.
Global Health contains 1.2 million+ records dating back to 1973, with coverage of 5,000+ serials, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, discussion papers, newsletters, patents, theses, and electronic publications. This resource complements the international health-related literature indexed within Medline and Embase, with 60% of the indexed journals unique to the Global Health database.
Also included is the Global Health Archive, consisting of 800,000 records from 1910-1973. A significant proportion of this material is unique to Global Health, and may not be found in PubMed and other databases.
Welcome to the Snell Library Speech Pathology & Audiology Research Guide
Welcome to the Snell Library guide to resources in Speech Pathology and Audiology!
Please feel free to bookmark this page for quick access to the most essential resources for your Speech Pathology and Audiology research. Please browse the tabs above for specialized resources.
Looking for research articles in communication disorders journals? Try ComDisDome
Looking for a list of health sciences databases? See our Biomedical and Health Sciences Database List
Looking for a specific e-journal? Check the E-journals List
If you need assistance please contact the Research Assistance Desk at 617-373-2356, or send me an email to make an appointment for a consultation.
New Resource! MD Consult: tap into trusted, evidence-based medical information for quick answers at the point of care. Search First Consult by medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures. Includes 50 leading medical texts, 80 journals & Clinics, 1000 practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, latest drug information, 50,000 high quality medical images, weekly medical news.
E-books! STAT!Ref -- STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable, full-text healthcare reference that integrates selected core reference titles with evidence-based resources, patient information resources, and innovative tools in one site. Selected titles include DSM-IV-TR 4th ed, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Pediatric Injectable Drugs and more. To access all STAT!Ref titles in Snell Library's collection, please click on the "Books/eBooks tab above.
New Speech Pathology & Audiology Books @ Snell Library
Contact Sandy |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: athletic training, nursing, nutrition, physical therapy, physician assistant, speech language pathology, audiology Education: MS Library & Information Science, Simmons College BA Marietta College Associations: ACRL/NewEngland Chapter |
Additional NU Resources for Speech Language Pathology & Audiology
Featured Web Site
- MEDLINEplus: Speech & Communication DisordersFrom the U.S. National Library of Medicine & National Institutes of Health. Overviews of speech & language impairments, specific conditions, disease management, rehabilitation, clinical trials, statistics and more.
IRis: Digital Scholarship, Publishing & Preservation at NU
Learn about IRis: Digital Scholarship, Publishing, and Preservation at Northeastern University
Go to the new IRis - View recent submissions to IRis



Loading...
