Reference Shelf
Searching PubMedImpact Factor & JCRTo get the full text...H-index
Medical Journal Title Abbreviations
This is the "Home" page of the "Physical Therapy Research at Northeastern University Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Therapy Research at Northeastern University Libraries   Tags: physical therapy  

Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/physical_therapy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured New Resources

Micromedex: Evidence based information which includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.    Please note: This resource is NOT to be used in Clinical settings due to licensing restrictions.

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research  3rd .ed 2012. Springer Pub.

Anatomy TV Primal Picturesmultimedia suite of interactive modules featuring 3D anatomical models of the human body. Modules include systemic and regional anatomy, sports and therapy, surgery and specialty titles including Speech language pathology and more.

MD Consult
authoritative evidence-based medical information. Includes 80 full-text medical journals, Clinics Review Articles, 50 leading medical texts, 1000 practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, current drug information, 50,000 medical imagesmedical news.  Search within First Consult for information on medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures.


ANA Nursing Standards now available onlineelectronic versions of ANA scope and standards of practice publications are available through NuCat, the Library's catalog.

Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciencesonline biomedical topics, including audio lectures & supplemental materials such as slides & notes, by faculty members & researchers from around the world.

JAMA & Archives Journals Backfiles Collection:  rich digital archive includes every issue of JAMA and Archives Journals published from 1883 to 1997.

Encyclopedia of Global Health
  covers all aspects of global health, including physical/mental health. Includes public policy topics, biographies, profiles of medical institutions, organizations and corporations.


Facts & Comparisons Clinical eAnswers: authoritative & comprehensive drug information. Includes a drug/disease indications database, dosage, body measurement, and general pharmacology calculators, patient handouts.

 

Links to Basic Library Resources and Services

NuCat (library catalog)

E-journal Listing (includes a list of all e-journals at NU)

All Databases and Trials  (complete A-Z list of databases)

Interlibrary Loan  (request books or articles not available at NU)

Citation Guides  (includes AMA, APA, MLA, CSE and more)

EndNote  (software for managing your citations)

RefWorks  (software for managing your citations)

Online Help  (email, chat, texting)

Off-campus Access to Resources

 

Welcome!

New!  Check out the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter to learn more about the upcoming changes at the University Libraries.

Read more about Snell Library's new login system.

Library services during Summer 2013 construction.

 

Database Trials

Embase  Trial ends May 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback!   Please let us know if this supports your research, teaching or learning at NU! 

Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Embase provides extensive and reliable coverage of the peer-reviewed biomedical literature, along with in-depth indexing and powerful search and information management tools.

Embase offers information so that you can comply with legislation and regulations for drug safety and pharmacovigilance, study detailed drug information (including adverse events, comparisons, and therapy), and support decision-making with high-quality preclinical and clinical information.
Pharmacological research and pharmacology information is indexed by biomedical experts using Elsevier’s life science thesaurus, Emtree. All of this makes Embase an indispensable tool for the many professionals working in pharmacology research.

Global Health & Global Health Archive  Trial ends April 28, 2013.
We appreciate your feedback!   Please let us know if this supports your research, teaching or learning at NU!

This is the only specialized bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health.  It covers international medical and health research by capturing key literature not covered by other databases, including international literature.

Subjects include biomedical life sciences, chronic diseases, diagnosis and therapy, epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, health systems, health promotion, nutrition, public health emergencies, tropical and international health.  Publications are from over 158 countries in 50 languages.

Global Health contains 1.2 million+ records dating back to 1973, with coverage of 5,000+ serials, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, discussion papers, newsletters, patents, theses, and electronic publications.  This resource complements the international health-related literature indexed within Medline and Embase, with 60% of the indexed journals unique to the Global Health database.

Also included is the Global Health Archive, consisting of 800,000 records from 1910-1973. A significant proportion of this material is unique to Global Health, and may not be found in PubMed and other databases.

 

Welcome to the Snell Library Physical Therapy Research Guide

"Those who do not set aside time for physical activity will have to set aside time for disease and dysfunction" 
Edward Stanley (1826 - 1893)

Welcome! 
This page provides quick access to the most important databases for physical therapy research, new health sciences books in the library, and links to Snell Library services.  Please use the tabs at the top for additional resources.  

Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical Therapy now available online from 1979+.  Search the Ejournal Finder by journal title to view articles.

 Get help from a Librarian  Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit

 

New Books @ Snell Library

Cover Art
Clinical Prediction Rules: a physical therapy reference manual - Paul E. Glynn
Call Number: Snell Stacks RM701 G57 2011
ISBN: 0763775185

Cover Art
DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation - Walter R. Frontera (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0781798191
Publication Date: 2010-12-14

Cover Art
Geriatric Physical Therapy - Guccione, Andrew
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780323029483
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Management in Physical Therapy Practices - Catherine Page
Call Number: Snell Stacks RM705 P34 2010
ISBN: 0803618727

Cover Art
Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention - Michlovitz, Susan
Call Number: Snell Oversize RM863 T47 2012
ISBN: 9780803623910
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Therapeutic Electrophysical Agents:evidence behind practice - Alain-Yvan Belanger
Call Number: Snell Oversize RM701 B45 2010
ISBN: 0781770017

Cover Art
Wellness and Physical Therapy - Sharon Elayne Fair
Call Number: Snell Stacks RM700 F35 2011
ISBN: 0763758213

Contact Sandy

Profile Image
Sandy Dunphy
Contact Info
270 Snell Library
617-373-5322
Send Email
Education:
MS Library & Information Science, Simmons College

BA Marietta College

Associations:
ACRL/New England Chapter
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip