Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Education Research at Northeastern University Libraries  Tags: cooperative education  

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/education  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Quick Links

NUCAT, the Library's online catalog for books and media

Article Search Databases

Citation Guides

     APA Exposed

Interlibrary Loan Services

School of Education 

Recommend a Book Purchase

Ejournals (E Journal Finder)

Partner Libraries

Off Campus Access

 

Best Bets

For books, try NUCAT, the Library's online catalog.

For articles/books specific to education, begin with...

Chronicle of Higher Education Online (Current NU only)

Education Research Complete (Current NU Only)
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing

Educator's Reference Desk (Gale)
More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Educator's Reference Desk (Open Access) 2,000+ lesson plans, and 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses.

ERIC (EbscoHost) (Current NU Only)

ERIC (Cambridge Scientific) (Current NU Only)
Note: Off-campus? Access ERIC (Cambridge Scientific) here, (QuickBib Citation formatting not available off-campus)

For reliable education web resources, begin with... 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Education Website

United States

United States Department of Education Website and

No Child Left Behind

 
 

Education Research at Northeastern University Libraries

Of Interest:

Trial Database:Teaching Books Here is the url: http://teachingbooks.net   (until Dec 15, 2009) TeachingBooks.net is an online, multimedia collection of resources about K-12 books, authors and illustrators that help encourage students to read and enjoy reading. TeachingBooks.net is a portal to thousands of online resources you can use to explore children's and young adult books and their authors. It offers quick access to materials and programs (short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more) that add a multimedia dimension to reading in the classroom, library, and home. Use TeachingBooks.net to look up any favorite author — from David Macaulay to J.K. Rowling, from Dr. Seuss to Shakespeare — or any title (fiction or nonfiction). You get search results with online teaching / learning resources about that author or specific book. These resources may be useful for lesson planning, author studies, and professional development to support the many ways books can be integrated into all subject areas in the K–12 curriculum.  Some users may want to view the 8-minute video demonstration of some of the university uses of TeachingBooks, presented by the TeachingBooks founder, Nick Glass:

"Inside Higher Ed" http://www.insidehighered.com/ (focus is on higher education)

 WELCOME:

Contact me for a research consultation.                   

E-mail us: Ask A Reference Librarian

Check out our 24/7 live chat service.

Visit or call the Snell Library Reference Desk.    (617) 373-2356

 

DATABASE BEST BETS

Search multiple databases at once here: Use TITLE search for best results. Includes education, multidiciplinary, and newspaper databases.

EDUCATION DATABASES

Chronicle of Higher Education Online (Current NU only)
[More Info]

Educator's Reference Desk (Open Access)
2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses.

Educator's Reference Desk (Gale)
More than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education

Education Research Complete (Current NU Only)
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing

ERIC (EbscoHost) (Current NU Only)
Contains citations to documents related to education. [More Info]

ERIC (Cambridge Scientific) (Current NU Only)
Note: Off-campus? Access ERIC (Cambridge Scientific) here, (QuickBib Citation formatting not available off-campus)
Contains citations to documents related to education. [More Info

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASES WITH EDUCATION CONTENT

Academic OneFile (Gale) (Current NU Only)

Peer-reviewed articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, the majority in full text. Includes the New York Times backfile from 1995 to present. Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)  (Current NU only) 

Full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles covering all academic subjects

Dissertations and Theses: Full Text (ProQuest) (Current NU only)

Over 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. More than 600,000 dissertations are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts

 Expanded Academic ASAP Plus (Current NU Only)
Note: Available courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Comissioners.

FIAF International Index To Film Periodicals Plus

http://0-fiaf.chadwyck.com.ilsprod.lib.neu.edu/search/quick/search.do

 

More interdisciplinary databases

Genderwatch (Current NU Only)
reprints full articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's. You can browse a list of subjects or search by key

General Reference Center Gold (Current NU Only)

Google Scholar
A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, academic publishers, professional societies, preprints, universities and other scholarly organizations.
NU affiliates: enhance Google Scholar by selecting "Scholar Google Scholar

GreenFILE (NU Only)
Note: Not affiliated with NU? Choose the open access version of Greenfile
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource for anyone concerned about our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as GreenFILE (NU Only)
as well

Highwire (Current NU Only)
Selected journals from Sage, as well as other scholarly publishers and societies.Highwire (Current NU Only)

iPoll Databank (Current NU Only)

 IngentaConnect (Current NU Only)
Note: Selected titles only. MIT Press titles available to alumni

IRis (choose one):

IRis: NU's Digital Institutional Repository for NU research and historical documents.
or
IRIS: Illinois Researcher Information Service for information about academic funding grants

Journal Citation Reports (Current NU Only)
Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:

  • Most frequently cited journals in a field
  • Highest impact journals in a field
  • Largest journals in a field

JSTOR (Current NU Only)
Note: Arts and Sciences IV courtesy of NU School of Law
Collections: Arts and Sciences I and IV, Health and General Science [More Info]

 

More interdisciplinary databases

LegalTrac (NU Only)
Note: Access courtesy of the NU School of Law

LexisNexis Academic (Current NU Only)
Up-to-date business and legal information is the strength of the LexisNexis Academic service. It allows you to search for newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication, and in some cases going back 20 years. Most documents are available in full text. [More Info]

LexisNexis Congressional (Current NU Only/not available to Law affiliates)
Note: Off-campus? Access LexisNexis Congressional here.

LexisNexis Statistical (Current NU Only)

 

 Mental Measurements Yearbook (Current NU Only)
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Allows for evaluation of test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership. This online service covers from Volume 9 to the present

Metapress (Current NU Only)
Note: Selected articles from Frank Cass, Taylor & Francis and Routledge publishers 

 

More Databases

MLA Bibliography (Current NU Only)
A core index for the study of literature, folklore, language, and linguistics, with good coverage of many additional cultural forms like film, music, and theater. Contains over 2 million citations to journal articles, books, proceedings, book chapters, and dissertations, dating from 1926 to present. [More Info]

netLibrary (Current NU plus alumni)

Oxford University Press Journals Online (Current NU Only)
Note: Selected titles only

Professional Development Collection (Current NU Only)

Proquest Digital Dissertations (Current NU Only)
Over 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. More than 600,000 dissertations are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Scitation (Current NU Only)
Note: View License Terms
Scitation is the online home of more than 100 journals from AIP, APS, ASCE, ASME, SPIE, and a host of other prestigious science and engineering societies. Scitation now includes SpinWeb. [More Info]

Taylor and Francis
Note: Terms of Use
The InformaWorld portal is a gateway to Taylor and Francis group journals, including the Routledge imprint.

 

More Databases

Web of Science (ISI) (Current NU Only)
Note: View License Terms
Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 8,500 high impact research journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline. Linked to EndNoteWeb.
Covers 1993-present.

WorldCat (Current NU Only)
If you're looking for a book or periodical, and Northeastern University doesn't have it, WorldCat shows you which libraries do. Most North American academic and public libraries are included.

NOTE: You may also want to consider using subject specific databasesas as many have education content. For example, Business databases, Literature databases etc. See Article Search Databases.

 

EDUCATION

Profile ImageDonna Kennedy, Head Librarian Access Services
Contact Info:
150 Snell Library
617-373-3197
Send Email

Subjects:
education, cooperative education

Education
MS, Education (Univ. of Maryland); MS, Library & Information Science (Simmons College)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait