Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies : Find Books

Where are all the books?

Due to library renovations, the print collection has been temporarily removed from the library building. However, if you are on the Boston campus, you can request print material from our off-site storage space using your Northeastern ID and password. Please allow up to 2 days for delivery.

Most of our collection is available online through Scholar OneSearch. If you need something that we do not own as an e-book, you are welcome to Recommend a Purchase. Please keep in mind that not all publishers sell e-books to libraries, and requests may be denied due to unavailability of a library e-book license.

Need help requesting books from the Annex?

Check out the step-by-step tutorials below:

E-Book Collections

ACLS Humanities E-Books
Full-text, fully searchable, high-quality books in the Humanities from 19 learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.
American Psychological Association E-Books
APA Books E-collection contains the full text of 80 books having to do with the behavioral sciences from the American Psychological Association.
Elgar Online Law
Recently published ebooks published by Edward Elgar in their Law collection.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of encyclopedias covering topics in the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science and Social Sciences.
Women Writers Onlnie
Early modern women's writings from 1400 to 1850. Includes searchable full-text of books, poetry, and speeches as well as browse by date, author, and title. Exhibits and teaching tools also available.

Research Tools and Tips

Looking for a specific item for which you know the title? Use these quick search tools:

• Ebooks

Use the Scholar OneSearch Browse search to find books by title or author. Use the "E-Books" filter on the left side of the search results to limit to books available electronically.

• Ejournals

Use the Ejournal finder (search by title, e-only).

• Databases

Use the A-Z database list.

Don't See What You Need?

If Northeastern does not own the book you're looking for, you can request a copy for free through Interlibrary Loan.

If you think we should own the book you're looking for, you can Recommend a Purchase. The subject librarian will review your recommendation. Please note that Snell Library is not generally in a position to purchase textbooks.

Your Librarian

Brooke Williams

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

279 Snell Library

617-373-2363

Subjects: Arts, Media, Music, and Design, English, Journalism, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Does the library have any fun books?

Yes!

On all campuses, we are proud to offer free access to OverDrive.

This extensive and growing collection of e-books and audiobooks features recent fiction, popular nonfiction and more. All Northeastern users can borrow materials for up to two weeks at a time using Northeastern credentials. OverDrive e-books and audiobooks are available with most e-readers and mobile devices. OverDrive also offers the Libby app, which allows you to read and listen on the go.

On the Boston campus, the Hub space on the first floor of Snell Library features a browsable print collection of recent fiction, popular nonfiction and other non-scholarly materials from our larger collection. Feel free to take a look and check out any books you're interested in!