History News
New York Times Historical Archive. The entire run of the New York Times, back to 1851, is now available online. (There is a 3 year lag, which is available through the Lexis Nexis Academic database). ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) Humanities E-Books. Over 2,000 scholarly E-books, many in the history discipline, made available by a number of learned societies.
Black Thought and Culture, a primary source database of interviews, speeches, and writings of major African American figures from colonial times to the present, is now available through NU Libraries.
Cambridge Histories Online, is now available through NU Libraries. The database contains the full text of the 247 volumes in the Cambridge Histories series. Explore American and British history, ancient history, Islamic history, economic history, the histories of philosophy, science, music, literature, religion, social histories, and much more. "My Histories" allows you to create and share a personalized library with your own bookmarks and notes.
Empire Online, an exciting collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world, is now available through Northeastern University Libraries.
Times of London, Digital Archive (1785-1985), is now available through Northeastern University Libraries. This archive of one of the major newspapers of the past centuries includes full text articles, advertisements, illustrations, and photographs.
Recently Acquired On-line Videos in History.
Snell library is now acquiring collections of streaming videos. Click on this link and choose FMG on Demand to see a listing of some of the history titles recently acquired.
Award Winning History Books
Pulitzer Prize 2009 History related Winners and Finalists
- The Hemingses of Monticello: an American Family by Annette Gordon-Reed (history)
- American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House by Jon Meacham (biography)
- Slavery by Another Name: the Re-enslavement of Black Americans by Douglas Blackman (general non-fiction)
- The Liberal Hour: Washington & the Politics of Change in the 1960s by G. Calvin MacKenzie (finalist)
- The Bitter Road to Freedom: A New History of the Liberation of Europe by William I Hitchcock. (finalist)
- Traitor to His Class; The Privileged Life and Radical Presidency of Franklin Delano Roosevelt by H.W. Brands (finalist)
- The Bin Ladens: An Arabian Family in the American Century by Steve Coll (finalist)
- Gandhi and Churchill: The Epic Rivalry That Destroyed an Empire and Forged Our Age by Arthur Herman (fjnalist)
Bancroft Prize 2009
- The Comanche Empire by Pekka Hamalainen
- This Republic of Suffering: Death and the American Civil War by Drew Filpin Faust (finalist)
National Book Award 2009 Finalists
- The First Tycoon: the Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T.J. Stiles
- Fordlandia: the Rise and Fall of Henry Ford's Forgotten Jungle City by Greg Grandin
- The Poison King: the Life and Legend of Mithradates by Adrienne Mayor
WELCOME
This history guide provides access to resources available for History research at Northeastern University. The page includes links to article and primary source databases available to the NU community and to recommended websites that provide primary source materials in a wide range of history topics.
If you need additional research assistance, please contact the reference desk, either in person or at (617)373-2356, or schedule an appointment with Jamie Dendy, the history librarian.
Journal Databases for History Research
America: History and Life Major journal database for articles in colonial and US history
Historical Abstracts Major journal database for articles in non-US history
History Cooperative Pioneering non-profit website for history research. Includes a growing number of important history journals,
JSTOR 100s of full text journals, many in history. Current 3 years of these journals not included in this database.
Project MUSE Many full text academic journals in the humanities. Coverage from 1994 to the present.
Search the above listed databases together (search will not be as refined as when searching individual databases):
Primary Source Databases for History Research
American State Papers. Legislative and executive documents from the important period between 1789 and 1817.
ARTstor A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, photography, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Black Thought and Culture A primary source database for articles, books, speeches, essays, and interviews by leading African American figures in US history from colonial to present times.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) (Boston Public Library Card required for access.) Comprehensive, primary source collection of full text materials from the 17th & 18th centuries.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) (Boston Public Library Card required for access.) Comprehensive, primary source collection of full text materials from the 19th century.
Early English Books Online Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
Empire Online Empire Online is an exciting collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Finding History Books in Snell Library
Subject Guide |
Additional NU Resources for History
- NU Archives and Special Collections
Selective documents of the University and its surrounding communities. - NU Department of History
Recommended History Website of the Month
Journal of the House of Lords (1509-1764, 1832-1834) from British History Online. Full text coverage of over three centuries of documents.
Additional recommended websites may be found in the tabs at the top of this page.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait