Focuses on racial and religious groups, particularly with reference to the United States. Places special emphasis on historical development, specific problems of adjustment and assimilation, and present-day problems and trends. SOCL 2270 and AFAM 2270 are
The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments. Book an appointment here!
The African American Almanac provides a range of historical and current information on African American history, society and culture and includes coverage of such topics as Africa and the African diaspora; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; sports; and more.
This almanac compiles information into more than 40 chapters on all major aspects of the life and culture of Asian Americans, from the early Chinese immigrants in the 1830s to the present day. Chapters are written in essay form and cover a wide array of historical, political, social and cultural issues.
The Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations
contains in-depth articles which both define and analyze terms related to race and ethnic relations. In this new edition, existing entries have been updated and new entries added that take account of developments in society and intellectual trends.
The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism.
Classic reference source with entries about ethic groups ranging from Acadians to Zoroastrians, the first comprehensive and systematic review of the many peoples of this country. Covers immigration, education and the legal system.
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material comprising over 3,900 articles with bibliographic intormation to highlight sources for further reading.
Latinos in the New Millennium is a comprehensive profile of Latinos in the United States: looking at their social characteristics, group relations, policy positions and political orientations. The authors draw on information from the 2006 Latino National Survey (LNS), the largest and most detailed source of data on Hispanics in America.
This source covers the civilization and culture of the indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada--both historic and contemporary. Included are signed essays, annotated directories, excerpts and biographies. Each chapter contains a subject-specific bibliography, photographs, maps and charts (400 illustrations in all). This 2nd edition also includes a new chapter, "Women and Gender Relations."
This chronology of significant events affecting race relations in the United States begins with the Plessy v. Ferguson decision on May 18, 1896, which approved the concept of "separate but equal" provisions for blacks and whites and thus set back the cause of real equality for decades, and continues through 2005.
The SAGE Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping and Discrimination provides comprehensive coverage on the state of research, critical analysis and promising avenues for further study on prejudice, stereotyping and discrimination. Each chapter presents in-depth reviews of specific topics, describing the current state of knowledge and identifying the most productive new directions for future research.