Skip to main content

International Students Library Guide: What You Can Do at the Library

Help for international student to navigate the physical and online environment at the University Libraries

  Meet our Research and Writing Team

 

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

International Tutoring Center provides support to international students with writing, conversation, reading, TOEFL and Career-prep appointments. Schedule your appointment and be sure to select a tutor at your preferred location: 88 Snell Library, Broad St., Seattle, or online.

In addition to tech support, ITS (Information Technology Services) provides software training workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNortheastern account in order to browse the schedule and sign up for workshops.

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians assist individuals and small groups with research projects. Who is your subject librarian

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC includes collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using digital and 3-D resources.

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

When You Come to the LIbrary

Remember to bring your NU ID, or Husky Card as  you will need it to

Want to know more about your Husky Card? Visit the Husky Card Services webpage

What You Can Do at the Library

Why Use the Library?

Web Search engines such as Google are convenient for quickly finding information that is freely available online.

But:

  • Much of the most valuable and important materials are not free.
  • Web search engines offer limited search options.

Library databases:

  • Offer flexible search options to help you identify the best content on your topic.
  • Link to the full text or to options (such as Interlibrary loan) to quickly obtain the full text at no cost.
  • Help you to manage your content and cite it correctly.

Use library-supported citation management software: