Skip to main content

Anthropology: ANTH 4510 Anthropology of Africa

A guide to print and online resources in anthropology

Getting Started

Have some keywords to describe your research topic? Use them in Scholar OneSearch to locate books, e-books, articles and media.

Get basic information on countries in Africa with the Reference Collection, such as 
   

Africa South of the Sahara

Working with cultural groups? Check the online Maps of Africa Showing Locations of Cultural Groups.

Online tools provided by the Library include

You could use Google Scholar @NU to search for articles from academic publications. This link has preference set to Northeastern to connect linking to the NU Library collections.

 

Other Resources

Africa, South of the Sahara--NOT the reference book, but a list of libraries and archives specializing in African Studies. Compiled by the Stanford University Libraires.

Boston University African Studies Library subject guides and collection.

Columbia University Libraries' African Studies Internet Resources

Specialized News and Archives

African News  is a collection of historical African newspapers covering the people, cultures, issues and events which shaped the continent

Anthropologi Info: Social and Cultural Anthropology in the News provides an overview and links to some repositories featuring anthropology, or anthropology-related papers in English.

BBC News --  Africa

NEW! BU African Studies Library has a page of open-access African Newspapers Online arranged alphabetically, from Algeria to Zimbabwe.

NEW! DocuTicker collects reports, papers and other grey literature. Visit the DocuBase article category list and scroll down to the International section for articles about Africa.

Global Issues : Social, Political, Economic and Environmental Issues That Affect Us All--includes a link to the Financial Times website--This is Africa: A Global Perspective

The Guardian -- Africa

Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting has articles, audio, video, slide shows and a blog ("Untold Stories") Use the search feature to locate articles on Africa.

WIPO Magazine article, "The Modern Tale of Nigerian  Wax Resist Textiles.

Need articles for your research project?

SCHOLARLY

AnthroSource -- A service of the American Anthropological Association with full-text anthropological resources from the Association publications.

EIU.com--great source for country profiles.

PRIMARY SOURCES, IMAGES and SOUND--add pizazz to your PowerPoint!

 

Digital National Security Archives -- includes declassified government documents covering critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II. See example below:

 Empire Online (Current NU Only) is a digital archive collection with thematic essays on the concept of colonialism from European and non-European perspectives.

Fowler Museum, UCLA -- Arts of Africa and the African Diaspora

JSTOR  Collection of scholarly journals and books.  Search tip: use the Advanced search option to limit your search to the journals in the Anthropology and African Studies collections.

Primary Sources  on Africa from the History subject guide
 

Your Librarian

Christine Oka's picture
Christine Oka
Contact:
Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Enhance your presentation with. . .

 

World Images Kiosk from California State University.

Use the an image from the African Collection to enhance your presentation.

An example of effective use of images and sound.

Or a map from the Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection at UT, Austin