Skip to main content

Anthropology: SOA U510

A guide to print and online resources in anthropology

Country Profiles

Books include

Africa: South of the Sahara

 Online sources:

EIU.com

Scholarly vs Popular

These links describe the differences between scholarly, trade and popular periodicals.

MAPS

Political Map of Africa (from the Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection). NOTE: To enlarge the map, press CTRL and SHIFT and + key.

The Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture presents Digital Exhibitsion, including  In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience with Historical maps of Africa during the Transatlantic Slave Trade

Afriterra Foundation provides historical maps of Africa

Global Distribution of Poverty, the poverty mapping project of the Center for International Earth Science Information Network. The website also provides subnational data sets with a catalog describing variables available in each set and papers and presentations by CIESIN and collaborators during the project period.

Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection, University of Texas, Austin contains current and historical maps of Africa.

The World Bank Mapped is a mash-up of Google Maps and World Bank data, a visual look at wealth--and poverty--distribution throughout the world. Business Planet: Mapping the Business Environment is another interactive map and data mash-up providing information about doing business in various regions, such as Sub-Saharan Africa, or within a specific country. There are over 180 countries listed in this resource. 

Online News Coverage on Africa

 Check the News for a list of all of our news and newspaper subscription. Some highlights for current events include:

Dow Jones Factiva contains the Wall Street Journal, Barron's and hundreds of other titles, mostly with text, but not pictures or charts

LexisNexis Academic uses a new search platform. Check the online tutorial for an overview on searching. Content includes full text for newspapers, magazines, new wire services, TV and radio transcripts. Legal, Business and biographical information also available.

Press Display, another international news source in 39 languages, allows selecting by country.

Your Librarian

Christine Oka's picture
Christine Oka
Contact:
Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Keeping Track

Check Citations & Bibliographies for information about managing citations.

Some databases let you keep track within the database; Ebsco databases, for example, will let you create a myEbscoHost account that will let you keep your articles in folder or subfolders, save your search histories, and set up article alerts.