Skip to main content

Center for Research Libraries : CRL Collections

Northeastern University now has access to the vast resources of the Center for Research Libraries

CRL Research Guides

The following subject guides from CRL help to identify specific research collections available through the CRL lending service.

African Studies  Though most of these resources are in print or on microfilm and will need to be requested through interlibrary loan, the historical African newpapers are available online.

Black Studies

China

Eastern Europe 

Middle Eastern Studies

Russia and the Former Soviet Republics  

Science and Technology

South Asian Studies  Though most of these resources are in print or on microfilm and will need to be requested through interlibrary loan, the historical South Asian newspapers are available online.

Southeast Asian Studies 

United States History

About the Collections

CRL collections comprise over 4.5 million publications, 1 million of them digital, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  Included are:

  • Over 800,000 foreign dissertations
  • 4,500 US newspapers.  These include many dating back to the colonial period and approximately 2,000 ethnic titles.
  • Over 6,000 international newspapers, many dating back to the 1700s.
  • Major paper and microfilm area studies collections from Africa, Latin America, the Middle East, and Southeast Asia.
  • Over 300,000 books covering the history of science, medicine, and technology
  • Over 50,000 engineering and technology journals from Linda Hall
  • A digital collection of the documents of the Brazilian National Government executive branch covering the period 1821-1993
  • A South Asian digital collection that includes books, journals, images, maps, and statistics from the colonial period to the present.