Skip to main content

History: General Primary Source Websites and Databases

A guide to Northeastern Library resources in history

General Primary Source Digital Collections


American Folklife Center (Library of Congress)

American Jewish History Digital Collections (Jewish Historical Society) Documents from 1654-present

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Major online collections

Digital Public Library of America

Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina)

Fourth of July Speeches (University of Missouri)

Immigration History Research Center  (University of Minnesota)

Immigration Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service.  Covers investigations from 1880-1930

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Documents from the Harvard University Libraries)

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Papers (NAACP) Internal documents from 1909-1972.

National Museum of American History (Smithsonian)

New York Public Library Digital Gallery (NYC)

Picturing US History (American Social History Project.  City University of New York)

Government and Policy Documents

Amdocs: Documents for the Study of American History. (WWW Virtual Library)

American Presidential Campaigns and Elections (Ebsco)

Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents (University of Oklahoma)

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Historical Legal Documents (Commonwealth)

Foreign Relations of the United States (Login required, access courtesy of the NU Law Library)

US Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1980  Congressional Documents


Maps and Statistics


Boston Streets: Mapping Directory Data (Tufts University). Includes maps, atlases, photographs, and city directories.

Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia)

Historical Statistics of the United States  (Cambridge University Press, NU login required)

Library and Archival Exhibits on the Web (Smithsonian)

National Archives & Records Administration (US) Records of the United States



Discovering American Women's History Online (Middle Tennessee State University)

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NU Login required)

Women's Rights Collections 1880-1990  (History Vault, NU Login required) Women's Party and League of Women Voters documents