Skip to main content

Public Health: Home

A guide to library resorces and research in public health

Browzine

NLM To Your Health Podcasts

Loading

New Resource!

Featured Resource: NEJM Global Health

The New England Journal of Medicine's Global Health review article series covers mjor topics on global health. Includes interactive graphics.  All articles in the series are free to access.

DSM-5 Online

   The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.  The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium.  Connect to DSM-5
View the PsychiatryOnline Tutorial  to learn more about searching across psychiatric journals, ebooks, practice guidelines and more.

Key Resources in this Guide

Articles in journals:  search Medline or CINAHL Complete, the most comprehensive databases for articles covering all aspects of public health
Looking for a specific journal?  search the E-journal Finder
Books & print journals: search in Scholar OneSearch, limiting your search to "Library Catalog"
Encyclopedia articles: search International Encyclopedia of Public Health

Key Databases

Featured Resources

 Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. 

Your Librarian

Sandy Dunphy
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5322

Need Help Using Library Resources?

I am available for consultation. 
  Email me at s.dunphy@neu.edu
  Phone me at 617-373-5322

   Additional ways to get help

Public Health and Tobacco Policy Center


The Public Health and Tobacco Policy Center is a resource for communities striving to improve public health through implementing evidence-based policies. The Center provides legal and technical support for policies that reduce the availability of and market for tobacco products; reduce unwanted exposure to secondhand smoke; minimize tobacco advertising and promotion; increase cancer screening rates; and promote healthy behaviors.

Public Health Advocacy Institute

The Public Health Advocacy Institute is a legal research center focused on public health law at:

Northeastern University School of Law

PHAI’s goal is to support and enhance a commitment to public health in individuals and institutes who shape public policy through law. We are committed to research in public health law, public health policy development; to legal technical assistance; and to collaborative work at the intersection of law and public health. Our current areas of work include tobacco control and childhood obesity.