Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Latino/a

A guide to historical materials housed in the Northeastern University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections Department.

Latino/a Collections

   A crowd watches the Puerto Rican Festival parade while waving Puerto Rican flags, 1996. Photograph from the Carmen A. Pola Collection.Jovenes Latinos Pro Salud, a group of Latino youths from Mission Hill and Boston communities who interned at Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital, 1999. from the Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción collection. Flyer for Agua, Sol y Sereno, a theater troupe from Puerto Rico, 1995.  Flyer from the Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción collection. Cover for La Alianza Hispana brochure promoting its programs, n.d. Brochure from the La Alianza Hispana, Inc. collection.


Alan Jay Rom, Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights under the Law Records [unprocessed]

  • The Lawyers' Committee is a non-profit organization specializing in pro bono legal representation of victims of race discrimination. The committee participates in community education on legal matters and promotes community economic development.

La Alianza Hispana Records

  • Established in 1968, La Alianza Hispana, the first Latino organization in Boston, provides education, family counseling, public health, and youth development programs to Boston’s Latino community.

La Alternativa Records

  • La Alternativa (1984-1999), the newsletter of El Colectivo Puertorriqueño de Boston, focused on issues facing the Puerto Rican and Latin American community in Boston, including bilingual education, union/labor issues, housing, racism, police brutality, violence against women, civil rights and violence in South America.

Natalie Ammarell Papers

  • Activist Natalie Ammarell worked on behalf of Boston organizations, including the Boston Panel of Agencies Executives, United South End Settlements, Solomon Carter Fuller Mental Health Center, Inner City Inc., Federated Houses, New England Medical Center community planning initiative, and WISH House, a community based housing program for women with HIV⁄AIDS in Dorchester, from 1977-2000. Additional unprocessed material available.

Boston’s Latino Community History

  • Boston’s Latino Community History, an online archive of 41,250 documents, images, and posters from the Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción and La Alianza Hispana collections, documenting the two organizations’ work in public policy formation, community relations, affordable housing, urban planning and housing rehabilitation, cultural and educational programming, violence prevention, and minority rights.

Boys and Girls Clubs of Boston, Inc. Records

  • Established in 1893 in Charlestown, the Boys and Girls Club provides the City of Boston with a youth development agency -offering programs in six areas: the arts; education; leadership and character development; life skills; sports, fitness and recreation; and technology.

Yoel Camayd-Freixas Papers

  • Community activist, author, and educator Yoel Camayd-Freixas (1949-2011) was a social psychologist heavily involved with developing mental health services and programs for the Latino community in Boston and Miami. He also founded the Hispanic Outreach Team in Jamaica Plain.

Franklin Dunker Papers [unprocessed]

  • Franklin Dunker, a local photographer and Latino activist, photographed Latino events in the Boston area, including the annual Puerto Rican Festival and various weddings from ca. 1980-2005.

Escuelita Agueybana Day Care Centers Records

  • Escuelita Agueybana (1976-1996) was the first bilingual day care center in Massachusetts to serve primarily Hispanic children and their families.

Frieda Garcia Papers [unprocessed]

  • Frieda Garcia is a Hispanic activist and community leader in Boston and worked with many local organizations including the United South End Settlements, La Alianza Hispana, and the Roxbury Multi-Service Center.

Grants Management Associates

  • Founded in 1982, Grants Management Associates, now called GMA Foundations, provides consulting, administrative, and organizational support services to grant-making organizations in the Boston area, including The Riley Foundation, a major funder of the Dudley Street Neighborhood Initiative.

The Hispanic Office of Planning and Evaluation (HOPE) Records

  • The Hispanic Office of Planning (1971-2011) was established to unite local community members, activists, social workers, and academics to study, coordinate, improve, and establish services and programs to benefit Massachusetts’ Hispanic community.

Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción Records

  • Founded in 1968, Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción is a grassroots organization in Boston’s South End that provides services for youth, families, adults, and the elderly through community organizing, educational, civic, cultural, and peer leadership.

Benjamin LaGuer Papers 

  • Benjamin LaGuer (b. 1963) was convicted of raping a neighbor in 1984 and is serving a life sentence. During his incarceration, he studied the law and filed appeals for other prisoners while seeking parole and a new trial for himself.

Massachusetts Human Services Coalition Records

  • Founded in 1976, the Massachusetts Human Services Coalition worked for the benefit of underprivileged and disabled residents of Massachusetts and advocated for funding and appropriate public policy until its closure in 2005.

Nelson Merced Papers

  • Politician and activist Nelson Merced (b. 1948) is the first Latino candidate elected to the Massachusetts State House of Representatives, serving from 1989 to 1992. He worked with a number of Boston Latino organizations, including La Alianza Hispana, and Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción.

National Lawyers Guild. Massachusetts Chapter, Inc. Records

  • The Massachusetts Chapter of the National Lawyers Guild, an association of progressive lawyers, law students, paralegals, judges, legal secretaries, and community activists, has been active since 1937. It seeks justice by working for immigrant and human rights, building community resources through the Street Law Clinics and the Lawyer Referral Service, acting as legal observers at demonstrations, educating the public about judicial nominees, and promoting workers' rights.

Dept. of History. Latin America and the Caribbean in Boston Student Projects Records

  • The “Latin America and the Caribbean in Boston” was a Northeastern University history class offered in spring 1998. Students wrote reports describing Brazilian, Dominican, Haitian, and Puerto Rican communities in Boston and Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Carmen A. Pola Papers

  • Latina activist Carmen A. Pola (b. 1939) worked with local groups and community organizations including La Raza Educators, Young Catholic Workers, Committee for Defense of Bilingual Education (Comité de Padres pro Defensa de la Educación Bilingüe), and Community District I Advisory Council. She directed the Project to Monitor the Code of Discipline at the Massachusetts Advocacy Center, a program to oversee the city–wide implementation of the 1980 Code of Discipline, a set of uniform rules and regulations enacted by the Boston School Committee to counteract the high rate of suspensions involving minority students. She was liaison to Boston’s Hispanic community during Raymond Flynn's successful mayoral bid in 1983, the first director of Constituent Services under Flynn’s administration, and later served as his senior advisor on human needs.

Puerto Rican Entering and Settling Service Records

  • Founded in 1961, the Puerto Rican Entering and Settling Service assisted recent Puerto Rican immigrants to the Boston area with English and cultural adjustment until the program ended in 1975.

Kelley Ready Papers

  • Human rights activist and anthropology professor Kelley Ready worked with the organization Friends of Committee of Mothers and Relatives of Political Prisoners, Disappeared and Assassinated of El Salvador, Monsignor "Oscar Arnulfo Romero" (CoMadres). She was a visiting assistant professor at Northeastern from 2000 to 2002.

Sociedad Latina, Inc. Records

  • Founded in 1968, Sociedad Latina is a cultural, social, and recreational organization that works to strengthen, educate, and empower Latino youth living in the Mission Hill neighborhood of Boston.

United South End Settlements Records

  • Founded in 1950, United South End Settlements (USES) is a non-profit social service agency located in the South End of Boston, Massachusetts, whose mission is to foster well-being, nurture personal growth and development, build a sense of community, and maintain an environment where all can thrive. In 1960, the Children’s Art Centre, the first public fine arts museum designed exclusively for children, merged with five settlements to form USES. Additional unprocessed material available.