Skip to main content

Multimedia Resources for Research and Content Creation: Image Resources

This interdisciplinary guide provides resources to support the creation of scholarly digital projects and presentations.

Northeastern University Libraries Resources

Other Image Resources

Before downloading, reproducing, or modifying an image, please be aware that many images are protected by copyright. Some images may be downloaded and reproduced, but not modified.   Read each site's license terms and adhere to appropriate guidelines.

Archives of American Art , Smithsonian Institution In addition to images, this site includes sketches, scrapbooks, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

Art Images for College Teaching  Free use educational resource. Emphasis on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture. 

Encyclopedia of Life  Classifies the earth's organisms and features photos and graphics.  Licensed permissions are indicated. A joint project supported by various institutions, including Harvard and the Smithsonian.

Europeana A collection of 6 million digital images of paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Included are images, texts, sounds and videos.

Image Resources from Sweet Briar College   Art history resources.

J. Paul Getty Trust Open Content Search Box with Open Content pre-selected from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute. 

Metropolitan Museum of Art: Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC) Many images are  freely available for scholarly, non-commercial uses. Items with OASC label may be downloaded. "Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"

Rotch Library Visual Collections (MIT) 

Science Daily

Visual Information Access Harvard University images available for pubiic and educational use.

Wikipedia: Public Domain Image Resources 

WorldImages Kiosk, California State University Image Project
75,000 images, global in coverage  may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes.

Image Sharing Sites

Photo Resources

Caution: Most of the photos from these sources are copyrighted and may not be used without permission.