Skip to main content

Human Services: Finding Journal Articles

a guide to online and print resources for human services research.

Selected Journal Databases

Not in alphabetical order:

  Social Sciences Premium Collection 
Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Social Services Abstracts.



The complete collection from 1999 to the present now available online! 

  • Search All Journals in the collection
  • Browse Journals by Title 
  • Browse Journals by Discipline
    NOTE: Social Science & Humanities discipline includes Social Work and Social Policy as well as Psychology and Counseling, and Family Studies

PsycINFO is the the American Psychological Association's flagship database of 2.4 million articles, books and other international documents in psychology going back over a century.  98% peer-reviewed! 

Criminal Justice Abstracts is the premier finding tool for scholarly and professional articles on criminal justice and related fields of study, such as domestic violence and community policing.

Ethnic NewsWatch Looking for articles and news written from the minority perspective? This mostly full-text collection can be searched by "All Ethnic Groups" or can focus on a specific racial/ethnic group, such as African American/Caribbean/African, or search only for full text news and articles. Recommend clicking on the checkbox to add Scholarly Journals to a search.

GenderWatch reprints articles from women studies magazines and newsletters. Search using keywords or browse through listed topic groupings.

PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)