Skip to main content

Physician Assistant: Home

Need Help Using Library Resources?

I am available for consultation. 
  Email me at s.dunphy@neu.edu
  Phone me at 617-373-5322

   Additional ways to get help

Summer Reading Suggestions

New Resource!

Featured Resource: JoVE the Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video journal. and is Indexed in PubMed.  JoVE collections include: 

Medicine
Neuroscience
Bioengineering
Behavior
Immunology & Infection
Biology
Science Education

  Take a look now!

Key Resources in this Guide

Articles in journals:  search Medline or PubMed, the most comprehensive database for articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Looking for a specific journal?  search the E-journal Finder
Books & print journals: search in Scholar OneSearch, limiting your search to "Library Catalog"
Encyclopedia articles:  search Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Key Databases

Access Medicine

 Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. 

Featured Resources

Anatomy TV Primal Picturesmultimedia suite of interactive modules featuring 3D anatomical models of the human body. Modules include systemic and regional anatomy, sports and therapy, surgery and specialty titles including Speech language pathology and more.

ClinicalKey:  Note: works best with IE or Google Chrome.  authoritative evidence-based medical information. Includes 500 full-text medical journals, 900 leading medical texts, 15,000 med/surg videos, practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, current drug information, 5 million medical imagesmedical news.  Search within First Consult for information on medical topics, differential diagnoses, procedures. For mobile access, first access ClinicalKey through the Snell Library website. Click on "Create an Account". Complete the registration form and create your username/password, and log out.  Log into ClinicalKey by visiting http://clinicalkey.com from your mobile browser. Log in using your new personal login.

Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciencesonline biomedical topics, including audio lectures & supplemental materials such as slides & notes, by faculty members & researchers from around the world.

Counseling and Therapy in Video  provides video for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.  Users can create, edit and share playlists or clips.

Encyclopedia of Global Health
covers all aspects of global health, including physical/mental health. Includes public policy topics, biographies, profiles of medical institutions, organizations and corporations.


Your Librarian

Sandy Dunphy
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5322

PA in News@Northeastern

DSM-5 Online

   The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.  The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium.  Connect to DSM-5
View the PsychiatryOnline Tutorial  to learn more about searching across psychiatric journals, ebooks, practice guidelines and more.

 

Locate Books & Media at Other Libraries

If you're looking for a book, periodical or media item, and NU doesn't have it, WorldCat shows you which libraries do.  Most North American and public libraries are included.